Achensee - more chilly swimming!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Tyrol » Eben am Achensee
August 28th 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

After quite a bit of debate, we found the perfect venue for the 1/2 day we had the coach booked for: Achensee - exactly what we'd been looking for, I believe! We'd been joking with our bus driver, Ulrich Schlechter that we were going to swim in the lake, and he obviously thought we were mad as the lake's very wide/deep so therefore doesn't warm up much. However, Ilse and I, finding changing rooms (and that there was no fee for entry - just lots of "you're mad" looks), decided to go for it. Ilse went in first, although I soon followed. It was "quite refreshing" as Ilse said, but a good set-up for the rest of the day, and as I kept moving I'm not sure if I warmed up or if I lost all sensation! So, to warm up, we joined Rob & Matt on the on-water trampoline, and then quickly got dressed again. We then decided that deserved (half) a piece of cake and thoroughly enjoyed that. I then had a task to do... finding thank you presents for Peter & Alison, who we felt had gone above & beyond the call of duty in looking after us this week - using the money I'd been given! Achensee actually provided some good finds - a map of cycle routes which we'd said we'd wanted to get after everyone got lost earlier in the week, some English chocolate, some Edelweiss chocolate, some spa-special bath relaxant and various odds and ends, plus trying to find a card - we eventually found a postcard which could be used to make a bigger card using some paper - homemade cards, always made with love!

We returned after lunch, several people disappeared off (canyoning, I think), and the rest of us relaxed in the pool, or I sorted out my paperwork, cleared up all the food area downstairs, wrapped the presents, made the card, etc. and ensured that an email list started circulation as I can use that information as it's been given for that purpose, whereas the information given to Oak Hall is covered by the Data Protection Act! Ensured I was largely packed and the card was circulating before I jumped in the pool, which was a nice temperature by now, but the rain was coming - by evening it was there! We had the evening meeting upstairs, which was much better - and managed to catch an amazing thunderstorm as we were safely inside! We had planned a final quiz, but people just wanted to chill, so we joined in!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.34s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 94; dbt: 0.1213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb