SALZBURG WRAP UP


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg
April 29th 2013
Published: April 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We are now on the train bound for Vienna. While we wait to leave I thought it a good time to summarize my thoughts of Salzburg. First and foremost, it is a definite must see. I might suggest winter as we both thought it would be truly beautiful here with the snow, cold and all the wunderbar soups. We are here at the start of the season so the crowds were not too bad, but July and August it’s going to be very crowded.

Three days is simply not enough to do the city justice or in a pace that is sane. We saw must everything we wanted to see, but could have used at least two more days to really take in the sights and on a more leisurely pace. If you are a Mozart fan, then Salzburg is for you, it is all about Mozart here, we only scratched the surface. There are plenty of concerts year round; rather you choose a dinner concert or just a free concert in a church you will find something to listen to. However, if you don’t like classical music, then perhaps Salzburg is not for you unless you are here for the second big attraction and that is the Sound of Music. Again, we barely scratched the surface of the Sound of Music things we could have seen.

If you do, and of course you should, choose the Sound of Music sights, I would suggest taking the official tour in the morning, then mapping out your own highlights, the Abbey, Mozart Bridge, and Mirabell Gardens etc. That could be at least a full day to itself.

The food is very good; it is very different than Paris. The food in Salzburg is simple but tasty. In French there would be a sauce, in Salzburg there is no sauce, but the flavors would be lost in a sauce. Schnitzel is a must and it can be made with chicken, pork or veal. Austrian wine is also very good and I am sure we will sample more in Vienna.

The train has now left the station and I am hoping the internet connection will be good enough to finish the rest of the payroll reports I need to do. Once that is done, then I don’t have as much work I need to worry about.

In summary, Salzburg is on the list of places we would come back to; we would like to spend Christmas here some time. Today is a bit over cast as we travel to Vienna, but who knows what might change in the three hours it takes to get there.

Auf Wiedersehen Salzburg

Advertisement



29th April 2013

Hello
Your trip sounds wonderful. I've been craving veal schnitzel ever since you hit Austria. I had a friend from Jersey, C.I. who was from a family of hoteliers and he'd studied cooking in a Swiss school for hoteliers. When he visited me in Portland, he made the most divine veal schnitzel I have ever tasted. So happy to hear you're enjoying every step of the way!
29th April 2013

xmas
I've always wanted to spend xmas in Austria. Lets go!

Tot: 0.538s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb