Day 13-MY 21st BIRTHDAY!!!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
October 1st 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 13 (Thursday, October 1, 2009)

Today is my 21st birthday!!! Buuuuuut I’m in Europe so that doesn’t really mean anything here ☹. Thursday is market day so I decided to buy myself some tasty presents at the farmer’s market. I got there around 10:30am and stayed for a couple of hours. There was SO much to choose from that I really had no idea where to start. It was pretty overwhelming but it was great! I walked through the market for a while to see everything before I bought anything. Probably the most difficult part was buying cheese. I knew I wanted to try some cheese but I had no idea what to get. I stood there for the longest time trying to see if I recognized something because I had no idea what the signs said. I knew there was some sort of brie and parmesan and that was about it. I stood there and watched and listened as other people ordered. I kept letting people go ahead of me while I tried to figure out what to get. I ended up just getting two kinds that I saw several people get. Must be good, right? Haha. I later realized that the cheese was very, how should I say, ummmm strong. It had a very potent smell. Ewww! I don’t think I will buy that kind of cheese again. I also bought all kinds of produce, meat, knodel, marmalade, bread, a couple of pastries, and I forget what else. It was all gluten/dairy free I swear…heh. Oh yeah and I also bought a couple of pieces of fried chicken. I don’t normally eat fried chicken but the stand was surrounded by people eating it and it looked and smelled to good! I had a couple of pieces with an Almdudler for lunch and it was great! Almdudler is a popular Austrian soft drink. I guess it comes closest to a ginger ale. It is not available in the states so I will have to bring some home for y’all to try.

After a wonderful time at the market I hurried home to put my food away and skype my family! Mom and dad were just waking up (this time difference is so crazy!) and Maritza and Victor were arriving in Houston later in the day so I would have to wait to see them.

I thought I would try to catch a tour of the Bavarian Mountains or something but when I went to the booth to look at the schedule, I had just missed the last tour. Maybe another day I guess. Then I thought I would give the Salzburg Museum a shot. When I got there I noticed that it is half price on the weekend so I decided to leave it for a weekend. Ok so maybe something else? I had been trying to figure out where I could buy a cheap commuter bike so I decided to continue my search. I went to the sports store near my place but they were all too expensive. They told me where I could find one but I couldn’t find the place. Oh well, that didn’t work out either.

I decided I was due for a visit to Café Wernbach so I stopped there for an early dinner. My mom’s friend the waiter was there, and mom, you will be happy to know that he asked for you and dad ☺. Later that night Britt and her boyfriend, Marcus, took me out to celebrate my birthday. We went to a small brewery (I didn’t catch the name of it) for drinks. I had weissbier, sturm, schnapps, and I tasted a radler. A radler is bier with sprite. It wasn’t too bad but I don’t think it’s my kind of drink. The schnapps we had wasn’t very good so we headed back to their place for a schnapps tasting. It was very good! Marcus has a friend who makes his own. It was a fun night! I got back pretty late but it was still early in Houston so I got to talk to Patrick, and Frank also skyped me so the girls could sing “Happy Birthday” to me. That was great! It was a good birthday after all!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb