The Shining


Advertisement
Albania's flag
Europe » Albania » West » Tirana
August 10th 2010
Published: August 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

At a huge Hotel in Tirana and I think I'm the only guest, all I need is some snow and it could be quite scary. Arrived in Durres after an 11 1/2 hour ferry journey from Italy with no functioning toilets, that was a bit of a challenge. arriving at 02.00am in the scariest of ports my first thought was to get the hell out of the country as quick as possible, so happens it has started to grow on me. Travelled from Durres to Tirana by train. The website has a picture of a TGV which is a laugh when you see the real trains, OK the fair was only 40P but still think it is overpriced :-). Think I may have made a bit of an error on my next trip, Tirana to Prishtina. First idea was to get closer to Sofia where I need to be by the 19th for the flight to Madrid, just so happens there is no link from Prishtina to Sofia even though they are only 109 miles apart, whoops. Looks as though I will have to go from Kosovo to Macedonia to Serbia then Bulgaria, problem is if they stamp my Passport in Kosovo then it is not recognised by Serbia so I could be stranded, mmmm, a Michael Palin moment ahead. Travelling from Prishtina to Kosovo by a company called Belleair who show nice modern jets on the website, with my experience with the trains I know I'm going to turn up at the airport and see the plane and think 'what the hell have I done' :-). To the Portugal crew, the forecast for the next 5 days shows constant sun so I'm sure the BBC couldn't be wrong, hope not, enjoy and assuming I'm not arrested in Serbia see you soon..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb