Day Four


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
February 28th 2011
Published: February 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Half Moon Cay

Enjoyed a leisurely breakfast in the Dining Room and headed for the Cay. It was another beautiful day, hardly a cloud in the sky, and the water surrounding the Cay was clear. I rented a float, found a lounge in the shade and headed into the sea. It was refreshing but I soon acclimated and floated in the gentle sea. It was so peaceful that I almost fell asleep.
After about forty-five minutes I decided to get out of the sun and read a bit. Oh no, forgot the Kindle so I sat and people watched. After a bit I headed to the rocky edge of the beach and enjoyed my first snorkel of the trip. Since the bottom is primarily sand and very shallow there were few fish to be seen. At the far corner was a small cluster of rocks and what fish there were hid out here. It was then that I realized I forgot my fish card and fish books at home. DRAT! Anyway I saw many of my old friends and after about forty-five minutes I decided I had crisped evenly for the day and returned to the lounge, which was still in the shade.
Chatted with a lovely women and then headed to the infamous Pirate Ship. This has been discussed on the Cruise Critic Board and almost universal condemnation but I decided to see for myself what all the comments were about. The ship is sort of a Disney design and is named the Captain Morgan and it serves mainly Captain Morgan Rum drinks at outrageous prices. The lower level is a large oval bar and there is a bandstand at one end. The upper decks offer wonderful view of the Cay. I have to say that I thought it was fine. The band was playing jazz at a sensible volume and it was pleasant to linger and listen for a while.
Headed back to the ship, showered, had a salad and iced tea for lunch and headed to the Promenade Deck with my Kindle. Found a deck chair in the shade and read and dozed until it was time for Trivia. Our team had 13 out of 17 points; the winning team had a perfect score. Question for the day; what does the queen ant loose after she mates?
Tonight was formal night and as always the ship glittered with tuxes and fancy dress. Dinner was Duck Pate, Potato and Leek soup and Rack of Lamb. Lost what I had won at Hold ‘em and then off to bed. Not a bad day at all, a nice balance of activity and relaxation.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb