A Little Bit of French, A Little Bit of Dutch and A Lot of Rum Punch . . .


Advertisement
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today we’re back in Sint Maarten/Saint Martin. The last time we were here felt forever ago - it was my first port & only 4th day on the ship. That whole first cruise is just a big blur.

Brooks & I were spoiled with another free excursion today. This time it was the Explorer Island Tour and it took us around pretty much the entire island: from Philipsburg, to Orient Bay, around Pic Paradis, to Marigot, around the entire lagoon by boat, to Simpson Bay Village and back to Philipsburg again. It was fantastic to get to see so much of the island, both the french and dutch sides and to get the historical/cultural background that I think it so integral to travel. We also had a bit of a party - the boat portion of the tour included an open bar and between being hit on by the DJ, I helped myself to plenty of rum punch. By the time we got back to Philipsburg, I needed a nap on the beach - and it was barely past noon!

The sun was HOT today. I thought a lot about everyone in the snow back home. Mostly since I’ve
Orient BayOrient BayOrient Bay

On the North East side, French side of St. Martin
been on the ship we’ve just had lots of warm weather, but today it was glorious. I was slopping on SPF 45 like crazy and was chugging my water before it started boiling in it’s own bottle.

After an hour or so of snoozing in the sun, I decided to go in the water before I melted away. Then a young boy swam over to me and announced “I know you!” I was sure he was mistaken. “Have you been here before?” he asked. “Once,” I said. “I recognize you!” he insisted. Then I realized - it was Shaheem - the boy who had been my little tour guide at Pointe Blanche the last time we were in St. Maarten! His six-year-old sister, Shaniqua (“Shani”) was with him. For at least a good half hour or more I spent playing in the water with Shaheem & Shani. There was a big water trampoline that they kept climbing on and jumping off of. Shani doesn’t really know how to swim, so I was helping her after she’d jump into the water. We practiced swimming and I taught her how to float on her back. Her little eyes lit up with such joy after she’d successfully float in the water on her own.

Between playing, Shaheem drilled me with questions:
“Are you rich and do you live in a mansion?” (No, though any of our homes back home could be mansions compared to most of the world.)
“Do you get to play video games on the ship? . . . Sweet!”
“So, the kids play games with you on the ship? Do they press your buttons like a video game?” (“Sometimes.”)
“Were you black like me before?”
“Are there jellyfish in Niagara Falls?” (That’s where I explained I was from.)

Shaheem & Shani were excited to know I’d be back, though they insist that 16 days is forever. My time playing with them has by far been the most delightful experience yet. Those two are pure joy. The entire day was wonderful. Finally, a day that felt like a true break from the monotony of ship life.

And the day isn’t over . . . We’re back on the ship now, headed off for St. Lucia. Tonight I host a dance party for my teens. There are about 25 onboard, but the activities aren’t really running because the
MarigotMarigotMarigot

Leaving the town of Marigot, on the Lagoon of St. Maarten
teens only appear one or two at a time and never stay long. We’ll see how tonight goes. After that there’s another crew party - this time out under the stars.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Simpson Bay VillageSimpson Bay Village
Simpson Bay Village

Arriving in Simpson Bay Village, on the Lagoon in St. Maarten


31st January 2007

Netter, seeing that picture and reading the story of the children warmed my heart. It's so great to hear that you are having these awesome experiences. Those are the ones you'll remember forever. And the best part? So will the children ;)
31st January 2007

SO JEALOUS!
Hey there! I have just got caught up with all of your travel blogs and I am so jealous. It's sounds like you are having the time of your life! Anyhoo, Cayuga is really boring - BIG surprise! I just finished filling in for McEachern at CSS and now I'm off to DSS to teach English. I wish I could just hang out with you on the ship. I will try to check on your blog more often so I can see where you are in the world! Miss ya!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb