Day ?


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

5-Feb-2010,
I'm starting to loose track of what day it is. I think the "Island Time" has taken over. Night before last Meg sent me out to get some twilight/night pictures of the harbour. She wanted that "candle-lit look".
I'm not sure I was able to accomplish what she wanted, but I may have gotten a couple of good pics.

Yesterday was another trip to the Tobago Cays. We had a total of 18 guests and I had all their names memorized before we rounded the SW tip of Bequia. There were several Canadians, a couple from DC, and a family of 6 from Chicago.

The captain and crew had to keep bringing up the falling in incident from earlier in the week with such comments as "going swimming today?" and "you're not carrying anything that's not waterproof?" It was a beautiful day and the seas were pretty calm.

When we arrived, I went to the beach with a group while Colin took a second group to the reef to snorkel. While Colin was gone, one of our guests had to be dragged from the water. By the time I noticed what was going on, they were motioning to me to come help. There were a couple of French doctors there on the beach that came to help and actually, our guest who was in trouble was a doctor himself. Once he had time to recover, he told us that he had just swallowed too much sea water and that he was going to be fine. After a bit, he was able to walk up to the shade and rest for a bit. When Colin arrived back at the beach, Mike and Annita decided it would be best to go back to the ship. And by lunch time he wa feeling just fine.

On the sail back home I went to fix a drink and noticed the galley was full of smoke. I alerted the Captain and he quickly shuts down the engine. We had some sort of exhaust leak, so I take the helm and we continue on sail power while the captain and crew work to fix the problem. When the problem is fixed and the engine is restarted our guests let out a collective Ahhh of disappointment. The quiet of running under sail was so peaceful and relaxing that no one was in any hurry to get home.

When the day was done I knew everyone had had a good time when some our guests asked to take their picture with me. Just another perfect day in paradise.

Yah Mon, Bequia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb