Day 10 & 11


Advertisement
Published: February 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Greeting from Bequia
The last couple of days have found us without internet at the house, so I have had to come to the harbour shop early in the morning before we leave for Mustique to catch you all up.

Saturday my jobs were to attach some bow and stern lines to the spare dingy in the yard and to install a bench in the changing room of the Friendship Rose.
That sounds like two simple joys if one has the proper tools and equipment, but here on a remote island thats saying a lot.

Everything here works on island time and when the day was done I had the dingy done, but the bench still was putting up a fight. To drill the holes for the bench I needed power for the drill. So I had to haul the generator from below to the deck. Then once on deck I didn't have the right adaptor for the plug in. Once I finally got the adaptor, the generator quit after 5 minutes. Then the pull cord broke, then the plug was fouled and had to be removed and cleaned and by that time it was getting dark.

That night Alan and the boys were quite lost without internet. How did we survive before?

Sunday proved to be a much more pleasant day. I started the day off with a jog past Spring Bay and Industy Bay all the way to Park Bay and back (about 5 miles) At Industry I met a very nice man from Nova Scotia who was kind enough to take my picture. One of the downers of traveling alone is not getting many pictures of yourself.

Everything went amazingly smooth with completing the bench project. No snags at all (a first). Then Alan asked me to give him a lift in the dingy. We went to a couple's boat moored in the bay that had visited the house a couple of times. Glen and Jenny from the UK.

When we pulled along side, Glen invited me to come aboard too for a cold drink. How could I refuse such hospitality. Glen tells me that they bought the "Wandering Star" 13 years ago when it was in poor shape from a boat yard in Florida. Glen took great pride in showing me the boat and everything he had done to restore her. I rightfuly so cause she looked brand new.

After a half hour of visiting with Glen and Jenny I excused myself and left them and Alan to enjoy their visit.

I headed down to Low Bay for the music festival. Here in Bequia they love their county music--the old stuff like Waylan and Willie and the Boys. At the Pizza Hut (not what you think.. Its a Hut that serves Pizza) they blast non stop Johnny Cash classics. Well low bay was no different the first band was a real twanger, but the second was some good 70's classic Stones and Alman Brothers.

That's all to report for now. Today I'm off to Mustique on the Rose. And tomorrow back to the Tobago Cays.

Ya Mon, Bequia






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb