DAY 21 AUG 18


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Spring BaySpring BaySpring Bay

Voted "Most photogenic"
Mornin' mornin'

Today begins my last three days in Bequia. I plan on spending them re-visiting some of my favorite spots and just sitting in the shade and soaking it all in.

I started the morning with a 45 minute swim. I hope from my time that it was about a mile and a quarter. There are some kind of sea birds diving in the water just about 10 yards away. They are trying to catch some fish, but none of them comes up with the prize. Then after answering some emails and writing the blog I am off on another walkabout.

Today its back down to Spring Bay and beyond. This time I continue through the rock quarry where the road is little more than a path. I'm guessing no one lives up here because the road doesn't look drivable save for the most rugged of four wheel drives (or mules).

After a ways of looking like there is no road, then suddenly the remnants of concrete re-appear. I climb about a mile farther than I had gone a couple of weeks earlier, but there is no end in sight to the road/trail. There's nothing but heavy brush on both sides and no clearing for photographing the views, so I give up and turn around.

The afternoon sun is hot and there's very little breeze even here on the windward side. Its a long, hot six-mile round-trip hike. This time I come prepared with a liter and a half of water, but it doesn't take long before the water is as warm as the day.

Back in the harbour its time for my daily shortbread cookie and some relaxing on the beach. Throughout the day I catch myself thinking "I can't believe I'm really here". This place is so beautiful! The island people are so welcoming. Here, everyone is equal. "One love" as the Rasta's say.



Even though I miss my life in America and am ready to be home, I know that very soon I will be missing my sweet Bequia.

Yah Mon,
David



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



20th August 2008

Awesome pics, again!
If I were you, I probably wouldn't come back...at least for another month or so. ; )

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb