getting ready for the country shift


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

It is my second to last day in Panama. I have my plane ticket to Colombia and I just heard about a boat going to Colombia. I met a guy who is going on a sailboat strait to the Galapagos , that would be amazing. I am not doing much in Panama City, I am working on my Peace Corps application mostly. The website currently says that to get placed for summer 2011 applications should be in before July 1st. There are rolling applications but if that's what they suggest that's what I'm aiming for. I am not a fan of writing resumes (I know I have old copies on other people computers, but not on mine!) or essays! Anyone want to write them for me or at least edit them?


I hung out with Nico and 3 friends of his, who all happen to go be USF students or alum. I got their info we are going to hang out back in the US hopefully. Earlier in the trip I met this great couple, (who remind me of Audrey) from St. Pete who I will hopefully see back in the US too. It really is a small world. Last night we had the best conversation about restaurants and mainly TRANGS! Then we went to a Caribbean restaurant, which I wasn't stoked about because usually vegetarian options are limited but this place was amazing. I got their only vegetarian option a coconut infused veggie dish. It was AMAZING probably the best meal I have had this trip. She used basil with the coconut and probably evaporated milk. They had homemade I had ginger pineapple juice to drink and we shared coconut flan for dessert. If anyone is in Panama City go to El Caribe. I tried the curry chicken and jerk chicken and they were great also. MMM I think this is a sign I should be cooking lunch right now... more later.

Advertisement



6th July 2010

the old capitan
I have enjoyed following your blog, you're doing a great job will be stopping by lost and found in August I just retired and will be heading down to Panamá I have been living in Florida and working for the Florida Department of Agriculture so hopefully I will meet some people down there in Panamá that are interested in organic farming hoped to look into the coffee farm they. Hear in winter haven fl it's been raining a lot but compared to what you've gone through it seemed like a shower I hope to hear that you've made it successful crossing into Ecuador and you are in Quito or for their down the road. We'll be stopping by the office of the Peace Corps in Panama City hope I have an opportunity to meet Nick at lost and found. On yes I have two daughters one is working in the Middle East and the youngest is in college at the moment. good luck Ron
15th July 2010

wow thanks!
Thanks for commenting Ron, it still surprizes me that people who aren´t my parents read this. Your post made my day. There are defenately people interested in organic farming, Nico is a good guy I hope you two get along. He should be able to point you in a few directions too. Enjoy your trip and thanks again for commenting!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb