Moments in the Sky


Advertisement
Published: April 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Moments From the Sky


<ol style="margin-top: 0in;" type="1" start="1"><li class="MsoNormal" style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-list: l0 level1 lfo1; tab-stops: list .5in;">Intipunku, the sun gate. The fourth and final day. Up at 4:30 to hike in the dark to this particular spot. Where gods once watched Machu Picchu awaken. Our group of travelers, once strangers, turned friends from days on the trail, stops suddenly. We have arrived. Backpacks slip from shoulders, spots are staked, a quiet falls on the otherwise boisterous crowd. I lean against my pack, ready. The first flicker of light, then the next. The city I’ve waited a lifetime to see appears before me as the sun climbs into the sky. This is why you hike four days. Vale la pena.



<ol style="margin-top: 0in;" type="1" start="2"><li class="MsoNormal" style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-list: l0 level1 lfo1; tab-stops: list .5in;">Sitting on the dock of the bar, legs dangling over the water, surrounded by strangers I’ve never loved more, friends I’d never met till now. Music floating to me on the gentle waves disturbing the reflection of the harvest moon hanging so low above me. Breathtaking brightness in the Panama night. I sip my rum and coke and smile up. She sees me tonight.



<ol style="margin-top: 0in;" type="1" start="3"><li class="MsoNormal" style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-list: l0 level1 lfo1; tab-stops: list .5in;">On the ship just as the first drops of rain began to fall. Gentle, soft, warm rain. The kind of rain you dance in, and we did. As the ship pulled away from the port, we said goodbye to Malaysia in a series and twists and turns to the music of the rain as if fell upon us in the hot, hot evening.



<ol style="margin-top: 0in;" type="1" start="4"><li class="MsoNormal" style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-list: l0 level1 lfo1; tab-stops: list .5in;">I said, <em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">these are sun setting chairs. We turned them to face the ocean. Just in time to watch the sun dip her rays into the water, testing it. A cold Toña beer in each of our hands. I found an easiness in San Jaun Del Sur, I’d never found before or since. As the sun slipped into the sea to rest for the night, I settled in. There are some places you cannot leave.



<ol style="margin-top: 0in;" type="1" start="5"><li class="MsoNormal" style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt; mso-list: l0 level1 lfo1; tab-stops: list .5in;">Each flash of lightning longer than the last. I take the moment to stare at you and find your eyes on me. I blush, avert my eyes. The raindrops come stronger, harder, but we are protected beneath the awning in a moment ours alone. Staring out into the dark of the storm, each burst of light, a chance to know you.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb