I'm in Granada!


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I've never written a blog before so touch wood my debut post won't bore anyone - chances are it will though so feel free to cheese off at any time.
Laura and I are currently chilling in some hammocks next to a mini makeshift indoor jungle at Hostel Oasis (conveniently pronounced Ooarsis). Really hoping I don't get bitten by any more mozzies - so far I have a bite on my leg and Laura has one on her toe - pretty happy with that!
When we first arrived in Nicaragua we stayed the night in Managua which is the capital of the country but also not a pretty place at all, there's no denying it. We stayed in an alright hostel though called Backpacker's Inn and two friendly Germans told us to go to Granada and miss out staying in Masaya ("not such beautiful a city" apparently) and we haven't been disappointed so that was a good move.
We started our first morning in Managua with a dubious breakfast of scrambled egg and sliced processed ham (also noticed a couple of grains of rice lurking on my plate) and decided to catch the first chicken bus we could to Granada. The man chucked our backpacks on the roof and charged us double the price of the ticket - thanks a lot - but we got there and realised we were in a great place so what's there to complain about.
It took us a little while to find our hostel and got caught in the ridiculous downpour but once we hopped in the pool and were feeling like mermaids, again our sorrows were forgotten.
That was yesterday and other than swim we went for some tacos, indulged in some fruit and had an early night - think we were still a bit jet lagged, but probably we're just wimps.
Today we got up early and spent the day at a crater lake in Laguna de Apoyo and surprise surprise I'm now burnt, but it was a really pretty place and I think we might go back there for a sleepover for a couple of days. Laura got a bit snap happy over the wildlife there - God knows what she's gonna be like in the jungle!
We ate some pretty good food tonight, sort of splashed out a bit but not feeling all that guilty because apparently it's the best place for food and coffee in Granada and that cappuccino was quite the taste bud sensation so why not!
I'll be surprised if I actually keep up this travel blog but I need a challenge so stay tuned for more interesting info regarding my life and our adventures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb