Adios Granada, Hola San Jose y Havana


Advertisement
Published: February 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Panarama of GranadaPanarama of GranadaPanarama of Granada

A beautiful view.
Well I'm not actually leaving for another day and a half but wanted to do a blog post now before I become too lazy, I've been writing reviews for TripAdvisor so am in a writiing mood!

Well its up. 10 weeks of Spanish class, 8 weeks of volunteering, I'm officially back to where I was in week 1 in Ciudad de Mexico...I'm a tourist again until I get home! After the terrible Spanish school last week, this weeks lessons at the new one have been fantastic. Got a through a lot of content and I will keep practicing till I get back and continue Spanish at uni, which if btw you didn't see my Facebook status...I had a web hookup with the convenor after I told him I had been learning Spanish and after chatting in Spanish for about 15 minutes he determined I was ready for intermediate classes so I get to skip a whole year of Spanish and pretty pick up where I've left off here, which also means I'm only punishing myself with 6 classes a semester for 3 semesters instead of 5!

I've not done a great deal in Granada as I had decided I
Marlon my TeacherMarlon my TeacherMarlon my Teacher

Learning some Spanish.
would spend my time here recouperating from all the partying/hiking/volunteering etc in Guatemala so I don't have much in the way of cool stories to tell in this blog. Though the other day I did visit an old church where they let you climb the bell tower for $1 so I got so pretty pictures of Granada from height.

My bus for Costa Rica leaves at 6am Sunday morning so for the rest of today and Saturday I plan to relax and maybe do one or two tourist sights if I can be bothered. I still have C$260 in cash (only about $10) but it gets you a long way here so need to do something with it!

As you may or may not know Costa Rica is like a mini America packed with American tourists and the night I'm there is the superbowl. I couldn't have picked a better time could I? Ha well I suppose I'll have to find myself a crowded bar full of gringos and have a few drinks anyway before an early start Monday to catch my flight to Havana! I am seriously looking forward to spending 6 days taking in all the
Cathedral MetropolitanaCathedral MetropolitanaCathedral Metropolitana

From the bell tower of La Merced.
history, culture and of course the mojitos! I doubt I'll blog before my return to Costa Rica in 10 days or so as internet isn't exactly up to speed in Cuba and I don't think I'll be on Facebook much from Monday...I know this will concern some of you but chances are that I'm not dead just no access :p

Anyways don't have much more to say so I won't apart from that I'll see you all soon as I get back in about 4 weeks. Time has really flown. Stay safe everyone and I'll try and do the same.

Hasta Luego.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Granada and Beyond.Granada and Beyond.
Granada and Beyond.

Again from the bell tower of La Merced.


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb