Mi familia nicaraguense


Advertisement
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Volcan MombachoVolcan MombachoVolcan Mombacho

This is the beautiful view I have from my doorstep! Volcan Mombacho can be seen all throughout Granada!
I am in Granada for three weeks at language school before we move into our house in Managua. While here in Granada I am staying with a wonderful host family! My madre nicaraguense is an older woman named Nubia. She is super sweet and is always teaching me about the food, the mercados (markets), the culture, etc. Right now in our house its only her and her husband Francisco. They also have a woman (Saida) who comes 6 mornings a week to help with cleaning (they clean their houses here daily!) and washing clothes. We also have many pets! A lora (parrot), who sits right outside my window, about 4 turtles (its hard to tell because they hide unless its raining.. and it hasn´t rained!), a puppy, and about a hundred or more fish all over the house! (Theres also a ton of lizards all over the house, but I wouldn´t really call them pets 😊

My madre has 3 sons who all live close by with their wives and children, and one is actually the father of Chelsea´s host family (another volunteer). All her sons have young children and they are always over the house, so its really fun!
mi lora!mi lora!mi lora!

This is our parrot! Unfortunately you cant get too close without some serious injuries, but I think the way she naps is so funny!
(I actually think I have the better deal because I get to play with the kids but I´m not there at 6 in the morning when they are screaming (poor Chelsea!) 😊

We are all staying with families in the center of the city.. it makes it a lot easier to get to class and walk around... but it also means they are families with higher income (by no means wealthy, but better off than many here). I wish could explain the radical difference between the center and the outskirts of the city. I feel like normally in the US the center of cities are nicer and wealthier, and then there is a more gradual transition into the poorer areas. Many places in Granada the line is very visible. In a few steps you go from concrete houses and paved roads, to makeshift houses and dirt roads. My family has a pretty big house. Aside from the bedrooms and bathrooms there are no doors inside the house, and the hallways and part of the living room is openair (no roof). Its nice because it allows for big trees in the house and dirt areas for the turtles to roam!
tortugas!tortugas!tortugas!

they only come up when its raining, but i think they are adorable! you can only see four here, but there are lots more too! this is part of the living room; it gives you an idea of how parts of the house are open air.
We have one fruit tree with a type of fruit called mimbro. Its the most sour fruit you´ve ever tasted! They don´t use it often except in a few salsas or after a shot of tequila! (instead of the lime 😊 )

All the people have been super nice! Nubia also doesn´t eat meat, so that makes being vegetarian really easy. She has shown me a lot of native foods and is teaching me how to cook them! Its one of my goals for my three weeks here to learn native dishes so I can cook them in Managua! FYI, the most typical nicaraguan dish is gallo pinto...basically rice and beans mixed together...they almost always eat it with meat, but plain is perfect for me! I also eat plantains almost every meal.. you wouldn´t believe how many different ways there are to prepare them!

I have yet to learn what my padre does (he´s very quiet), but my madre is a hair dresser and owns her own beauty salon which is also in our house. We have two main doors..one enters into the living room and the other into the salon. Her sister (who lives next store) owns
lora localora localora loca

she always goes a little crazy in the rain! :)
an internet cafe, so that´s quite convenient! Its also the front part of her house, but its the only entrance. (remember besides bedrooms and bathrooms there are no doors..so really anyone from the street sees right into your house). That´s how all the small businesses are here. It´s actually really convenient because you can be hanging out with your family, cooking, watching tv, etc, and then your client simply calls out and you come!

Well I must run now.. but there´s a lot more to come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

mimbromimbro
mimbro

this is the mimbro fruit..one of the big trees in our house!


31st August 2009

Beautiful and Delicious!
Dear Court I envy you your view and life with all of the creatures. Please write down those recipes and teach them to me when you return. I love hearing about what you are doing. love, Emily

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb