I Almost Tore My Groin In Half


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Who would have thought? Not me. I had no idea what Nicaragua had to offer. This country really surprised me. I didn't travel through the country extensively, but the things I did get to see were beautiful. I managed to catch up with my friend Elijah (from San Fran) in Granada, Nicaragua. He has friends who live in the town, so he ended up kicking it in Granada for three weeks. He was traveling two weeks ahead of me.

We got to swim in two lagoons that are located inside volcano craters. The first lagoon which is closer to Granada was the larger and nicer of the two. The water was cool and crystal clear. It was a good swim. The second lagoon is located in Madera Volcano on Isla de Ometepe. This lagoon was small and not as nice. If you stood in one place for too long, you'd start sinking. It felt like quick sand.

We decided to visit the island to check out the volcanoes, Madera and Concepcion. Our plan was to climb both, on different days. Yeah right! We started with Madera. First of all, I didn't think the trek up Madera was going to
Concepcion VolcanoConcepcion VolcanoConcepcion Volcano

This baby is alive and kicking.
be hard. I didn't take my good tennis. I left them back in Granada. Instead I wore my Converse Chuck Taylor's slip ons. Bad idea. The trek was rocky, muddy, wet, and very slippery. Going up wasn't too bad. Coming down was hell. I slipped about 80% of the time as I came down. My shoes have no traction. It felt like I was walking with two plastic bags wrapped around my feet. On mud. My legs were slipping every which way. At one point I basically did a split and nearly tore my groin in half. Yeah, it fucking hurt! I also managed to sprain my knee. Oh yeah, and the trek coming down took about three hours. Three hours of hell!

The next day our legs were like jello. There was no way we were going to make the Concepcion Volcano hike. The guide told us that trek was harder and longer. So, Elijah and I decided to save it for another day. We made it back to Granada and kicked it for a couple of more days. That town was really cool.

We both decided to leave Nicaragua at the same time. Elijah however was headed to Guatemala. I decided to make my way to Honduras, the Bay Islands. They had an earthquake just a few days before in that area. I was a little hesitant in going, but decided to risk it anyway.

peace,
alex








Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb