Reflections on the Nicaraguan countryside.


Advertisement
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

MountainsMountainsMountains

As seen from the back of the truck, travelling from Managua. This is on the lush, atlantic side.
Well, today is officially the ONE MONTH mark of my arrival in Nicaragua. Things have started to normalize a bit for me, so that I no longer feel the need to write a blog every 2 seconds about all of the "new and exciting" things that are happening. "New and exciting" has given way to "regular and routine", which I have to admit I prefer! Looking back, I can see that each week here has corresponded with a phase of "culture shock", as taught to me before I left for Mexico last year. Week 1 was the "honeymoon phase", where everything was different, exciting, (and scary).
Week 2 was the "hostility phase", when things started to get to me and really bother me. The unknown bugs and noises, irregular schedule, language issues, and terrible telenovelas all began to grate on my nerves. I hated that I was struggling so much, when everyone else was comfortable and within their comfort zone. I felt so disadvantaged, and useless.
Week 3 was the "humor phase", when the things that annoyed me began to just seem funny. I began to laugh at the terrible novelas, rather than loathe them, and the bugs began to be
Me, in the back of the truck!Me, in the back of the truck!Me, in the back of the truck!

This is how we travelled home from managua (although the baby travelled INSIDE the truck!).
just an accustomed irritation.
Week 4: In theory this week should be the beginning of the "home phase", (although reportedly some ppl never reach this phase), where it begins to feel like home. Things that were once strange become usual, customary, expected. I don´t know if I´ve reached this phase yet, but I think I am beginning to...Or atleast I hope so!

I have spent much time travelling the past few weeks: I have gone to managua and back at least once a week, taking the 5 hour trip either by bus or by truck (provided by URACCAN). The long journey has come to be familiar to me, and I enjoy the scenery. Even MORE I enjoy the fact that it is starting to feel like "home": I´m so glad that I am finally able to predict which little town comes next, where there will be an overwhelming smell of pigs, where the lake is, etc. The journey is becoming familiar. The last time we travelled home from Managua I sat in the back of the truck (a customary way for ppl in Latin America to travel, cramming as many as possible into already over-crowded vehicles). This provided me
MOO!MOO!MOO!

At the entrance to the University. Beasts-of-burden are a common sight along the country roads...
with the sense that, for the first time, I really BELONGED. I was covered in dirt from the truck flat, my hair blowing messily in the wind, yet no-one looked at me strangely: I was no longer a "tourist", but I looked just like everyone else. I was comfortable travelling like a local, I knew where I was going, and (I felt that) I fit right in. I have decided that there is no better way to see the country!

I took lots of pictures from the back of the truck, with an unobstructed view of the never-ending mountain ranges. Travelling Nicaragua, it is almost as if one passes an invisible line dividing the country in two. On the Atlantic side there is much more rain and (since it is less "developed", in the sense that there are fewere urban areas) there are many more trees. This gives the Atlantic coast the unique flavor of a Carribean rainforest, complete with glistening palm trees of vibrant green, and lush green grasses. Yet as you travel Westward toward the Pacific, a change occurs almost instantaneously: the landscape becomes dry and brown, there is no more grass, only dust, and the trees (few and far between) look shrivelled and dying. The change is remarkable. Two different worlds, separated by an invisible line. As mentioned in my journal about Puerto Cabesas, not only does this line deliniate the landscape, but it also provides a cultural division. It is so INTERESTING! I think only pictures will suffice to explain the difference: so take a look at the pics of my (multiple) trips back and forth from Managua.

Thanks again for all of the support I recieved from friends and family the past week, as I struggled with feeling homesick and maladjusted. As I said, I think it that pahse of culture schock is finally starting to wear off: although continued prayer is much appreciated. Blessings in Christ:
Seeta





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Green GrassGreen Grass
Green Grass

Just LOOK at the color of this grass! It´s the most vibrant, stunning green I´ve ever seen. Almost surreal. This pic was taken on a small, day-trip to a neighboring village (ie. like 5 little houses) to Nueva Guinea, called "La Unión".
the view from the mountains of La Uniónthe view from the mountains of La Unión
the view from the mountains of La Unión

On the way to La Unión, we stopped to take this picture of the magnificent view...Breathtaking.
Lago (lake) NicaraguaLago (lake) Nicaragua
Lago (lake) Nicaragua

The shores of lake Nicaragua, the largest freshwater lake in central America, on the road from nuea Guinea to Managua. (It´s more Pacific side, hence the dry, brown shrubbery)
Trip to the Hair SalonTrip to the Hair Salon
Trip to the Hair Salon

This is Juliana getting her hair dyed at the local Hiar salon, run informally from inside a neighbour´s house. Very different from "Angel Hair", the salon that I work at in downtown Toronto!
NacatamalesNacatamales
Nacatamales

"Nacatamale" is a traditional local dish, eaten on sunday mornings. It is made of cornmeal, with chicken, tomato and various vegetables inside. It is boiled inside a banana leaf. It´s very soggy, and is like a sponge: so you can´t drink water for 1 hour after you eat it (unless you want your stomach to get all bloated!). It is eaten with only a cuup of black coffee to drink.
me at the radio stationme at the radio station
me at the radio station

Last week one of the (few) things I did was to assist in a weekly radio show that airs on the local station. It was fun! Luckily it wasn´t live, so i was free to mess up and re-record...
Me & my "sister"Me & my "sister"
Me & my "sister"

This is me making dinner with Raul´s girlfriend (he´s Juliana´s son). Everyone thought we were sisters when we went to the market together, and we let them believe it! (we look pretty alike, tho u can´t really tell from this pic). It´s nice to look like everyone else...


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb