Yesterday I split concrete blocks with a hatchet


Advertisement
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

One of my "jobs" at Chacocente is to tutor "Fito" (short for Gabriel) in 3rd grade Spanish, Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Science. Fito is 18. I don´t know anything about his parents as he stays in a house with another young adult on the project. Cherito is thinking of bringing in a few other young adult men in, if they can promise to go to school and help with the development of the project.

Fito and I eager went at it Mon, Tues, Wed and Thurs. We worked him understanding the various digits in 4-digit numbers (like 6,476) and being able to say them out loud. We worked on spelling words and reading 3rd grade stories. He was doing most of the homework I was giving him to practice what we worked on for our 2 hours every day. I rewarded him with N American chicklets. I think it was the drilling I was doing regarding the 4 types of sentences (declarative, interragative, imperative and exclamatory) that put him over the edge. Friday he came in and told me he hadn´t slept well over night and did not want to study. So I went and worked construction with the men, and a few of the woman (including Margarita´s mom, Rosa, who is moving bricks and shoveling sand, and is 6-7 months pregnant).

I heard from others that Fito was talking about moving back to the dump yesterday. Oh my gosh, was I being a workhorse with him? Come to find out he and his buddies at the dump had a practice of sniffing glue. It´s incredibly cheap as you would imagine. He thinks he can go back to the dump and hang out with these guys and not be tempted to sniff glue again. I was very impressed with some of the teachers who were really able to engage him in conversation. At the end, he´s decided to stay at Chacocente, and on Monday afternoon we´ll have a conversation about his work load!

My work with the guys--they are continuing their work on the school. It needs more rooms, it needs electricity, amongst lots of other things. I helped Melvin build a wall, which included mixing the cement and the sand, adding the bricks and spliting bricks with a hatchet when the space was smaller!

My other work at Chacocente has been going well too. I have a 1.5 hour meeting with the adults each day and they are sharing their "family shields" they´ve created to talk about their past, present and family characteristics. Yesterday we started conversations about the importance of communications. A great lead-in to some more of the issues they have in working together (don´t we all!). I´m excited. I will be spending the night there 1-2 times a week for the next 3 weeks to spend more time with the adults and to play more with the kids.

More to come. Have to get home before the sun sets.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb