River Tubing with Ginny and the Teens . . .


Advertisement
Published: May 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today we’re in Ocho Rios, Jamaica and it’s the last port day I have with Ginny here. We’d talked about a few different things we could do today, but then I had teens sign up for the tour being offered this cruise, so I had to chaperone. But I was able to arrange for Gin to come on the same tour I’d be taking the teens on, so we still got the day together.

The adventure for the day? River Tubing on the White River. I’ve done a couple of river tubing tours in other ports, but this one was a new one for me, so that was exciting.

It was an early morning, but we met the teens and packed into our van for the winding and rushed ride through the back roads that cut through rainforest. I would have happily had a nap during the ride, but our driver liked to blare the horn around every corner, or sometimes even stretch of straight road, regardless of an oncoming car or an empty road.

When we reached our starting point of the river, we all got our tubes and life vests and then we were off. I love river tubing. It’s so relaxing and refreshing and in such beautiful surroundings. After four contracts down in the Caribbean many things become sort of “same old, same old”, but I never tire of the rainforest. I love just lying back in my tube and looking up through the trees.

Our guides were really great and had plenty of fun themselves. Splashing us, tipping my teens out of their tubes when they were being, well, teenagers. They’d dive down to the bottom of the river and reclaim lost items or bring up a freshwater shrimp for me to make friends with.

Our tour group was really great too. There was a family that had two of my teens in it with our group and they also had a younger sister who was so sweet and just the cutest little thing.

Along the way there were a couple of “rapids” that we passed along. I use the quotations cause rapids makes me thinking of white water rafting and that’s not this. It’s just small patches of faster water that lets your tube speed along faster and spin you around a bit. Just something to liven up the lazy drift along the river.

The tour operator has a lovely little resort set up at the end of the river course. I would have loved time to curl up at the bar with a drink and the beautiful view of the mountains, but I was on the clock after all . . .

Tomorrow is a sea day and then Ginny will be going back home. I haven’t always been in the best of spirits during her time here, between being so busy in the club and still feeling frustrated about the bouncing around I’ve been doing with this contract. But it’s been so good to have her here. I’m going to miss her when she leaves!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Sorry Dude.Sorry Dude.
Sorry Dude.

I've been eating shrimp pretty much every day in the guest dining room.
Down the RapidsDown the Rapids
Down the Rapids

The picture makes this look like nothing. This is no white water rafting, but you can really move down those rapids!
I Have A Propsed Home For YouI Have A Propsed Home For You
I Have A Propsed Home For You

If only I wasn't working . . .


4th May 2009

The pic of that shrimp does NOT make me wanna eat it. lol.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb