Negril


Advertisement
Published: May 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I stayed up until 1 am the morning of my flight watching the abomination that was laker/nuggets game 6. Thursday is the last day of my work week so I typically struggle to stay up that late. However my excitiement about my vacation combined with my sheer frustration at the lakers allowed me to stay awake with relative ease.



When 6:30 rolled around I struggled to get up. I had packed the night before, and always pack lightly for the beach. 3 tshirts, one button down, 2 soccer jerseys, a pair of linen pants, swim trunks, sweat pants, shorts jeans and the long sleeve shirt I wore out my front door (didn't bring a razor to Jamaica) and didn't have anything to eat. I got to the airport and like a fool forgot there is only 4 gates and a dinky snack bar past security in blountville. I boarded the tiny plane and forgot I packed so lightly so I left my bag on the outside for them to place underneath the plane. Normally this wouldnt be a problem, but I had a quick connection in Atlanta.





After I got my bag I went straight to my gate. They asked for my passport when I arrived and promptly boarded me. My 6'5" ass was happy to see I had all 3 seats in a row to myself, especially since I was assigned the middle seat. One thing was obvious about this plane, it was probably the first flight I've ever been on where almost everyone one on board was going to have a good time. No businessmen, no natives going back home, no one going to visit grandma. The flight attendant was talking about partying and getting everyone to shout, which the two women behind me did. I kept to my usual flight tradition of losing myself in my earphones and wrecking my neck trying to sleep.





I got off the plane and went to exchange my money. Dollars are excepted at all the touristy spots, but while i was going to negril the yoga center is off the beaten path. If you are going to stay at an all-inclusive mega resort you just use US$. I exchanged $200 worth, which was over $15,000 Jamaican. I practiced getting the exchange rate right in my head for the next couple hours.





I grabbed a bus to negril, which was 70 miles from Montgomery bay. The first thing the driver checked was to see who was going where. 2 people were going to hedonism and the rest a resort next to it called breezes. I was the only one going anywhere else. The thing about hedonism is its an all nude resort, and while people kept asking the couple about it, no one ever discussed this. Seemed kind of odd.





The bus made a bathroom stop at a snack stand. Unwarranted considering how short the trip was, but it was probably some mutual business arrangement. I didn't complain, I STILL had yet to eat anything. I jumped at the local favorite, BBQ jerk chicken. Most everyone else got red stripes. The person next to me (nudist guy) started talking to me, when I told him where I was staying he asked if I was teaching, because I had the physique to apparently? Anyways the bus got to the first resort where everyone but me, a Canadian pilot that got on last and the nudists stayed on. When we pulled in a couple guys outside the bus looked in and gestured like they were smoking a spliff. Not even off the bus yet and they trying to sell me herb. The nudists were dropped off next, I commented their resort looked nicer. They told me it was "freakier" too. I somewhat envyed them.





The pilot started giving me a run down of his favorite spots. We agreed to meet up at margaritaville tomorrow to watch the lakers. He says its over priced and commercial, but the only place you can be assured the game will be on. I got dropped off next and opened the gate. When I walked in I noticed a sign for the office. The office was an open aired building with a stray looking dog tanning in front of it. Inside were two women and a computer that was at least ten years old. I told them my name and they said they were expecting me. I signed some forms and ciscene showed me around the grounds.





The yoga center I'm staying at has 9 unique rooms, she pointed out the various fruit trees and said I was free to pick them. They have a kitchen for breakfast and lunch and tables and hammocks set in the garden. Their was also a community kitched, and she asked if I can cook. I told her yes, but not Jamaican food and that's all I want to eat here. She then showed me the yoga room and walked me to mine.





It immediately reminded me of something I would find in brazil. The walls and floors concrete with wooden wimdowsills. Two antique beds with sagging mattresses were in the room, no matching covers. I had a small table, nightstand and wicker chair. Their was a bathroom with a saloon type door, a shower with weak water pressure and no hot water. I then realized I forgot a towel. Oh well.





I unpacked and began the half mile walk to the grocery store. Despite my darker skin and attempt to dress un touristy I was still asked if I wanted a cab ride twice in the ten minute walk. Not from people standing on the street, but cab drivers would straight pull over. I got to the store and bought two gallons of water, 4 coconut water cans (I later realized I was on a god damn island, and this was as stupid as buying a bag of man made sane) and two papayas since all I intend on eating is fruits and seafood here.





I walk out and rain looks like its coming, I walk fast.





Rain comes down HARD. A taxi asks to give me a ride, but I notice a 15 foot stretch of bridge ahead with a cover. I run to stay under it. Already 13 other people were under it and it was clear I was the only non native. Prior to this, I thought English was the language of Jamaica, but they spoke some different dialect to each other. I wondered if they were talking about the gringo under the bridge with them. A man on a bike waited amongst them. He had two jugs of fuel mounted to the handles and a backpack full of clothes maybe along with a fork and a Tupperware thing. On the backpack a weedwacker was strapped on. He was obviously headed home after a long day of work. It's great to go back to a 3rd world country to regain perspective. This man was over 50, worked a long day and now can't get home on his rickety fully strapped bike because it's pouring. Whatever crap going on in my life doesn't compare.





I didn't bring a watch both because I didn't want thieves to target it and because I hate keeping any schedule on vacation. I'm not sure how long I was under there, but it was at least an hour. I would of pulled my iPhone out, but I didn't know if that would of been a meal ticket either. Towards the end one of them pulled a blackberry out and played tupac jams on the speaker.





I finally walked back and changed out of my damp clothes. I went to the kitchen and ate my papas. I was exhausted at this point, and watched the crabs and tropical birds scurry around as the sunset. It was 8 pm when it got pitch black, and the security guard for night watch arrived. We had a 4 minute convo and I asked him what time the sunrises. "6am its 80 degrees and sunny mon" I said goodnight nd went to sleep.

Advertisement



12th May 2012

Travels
As I sat here reading this, I have a big smile on my face and bust into laughter at certain parts. I love Your yearning for travel and a simple life. I wish I was there with you. I KNOW we would be dying of laughter when We realized we didn't bring a towel. Can't wait to read the next post. Smooches.
18th October 2012

Hey, thanks for writing this. I'm going to the yoga center in Nov and really got some perspective on what to expect. I'm thinking ill hate all the hustlers on the beach though. If you have anything else to share that's important to note I'd love to hear it! Thanks
24th December 2012

Are you traveling alone? The best places to stay on the beach are in front of other hotels that are beach side. They all let me stay there for free, and they would have a manager that would scare off the bums. I would repay them by buying food and drinks from their restaurants. My feeling is they wanted people there because it would make them look busier (we were there during slow season). There was one we hung out in front of all the time, but I don't remember the name.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb