Sandals Jamaica FAM Trip - Day 5


Advertisement
Published: December 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Because we don’t have to be ready for our big adventure today until 2:30, I thought this morning would have been great to finally get in a dive on this trip, but after our busy day and lots of walking yesterday, I was just too wiped out and thought better not to risk diving when my leg muscles were sore. Instead, I had an early breakfast and then relaxed at the beach and pool, straying not too far from the swim up bar where I enjoyed mudslides and dirty banana frozen drinks made to perfection. The beach and ocean here are really nice, and the water was warm. For lunch, a group of us went to the beach grill. I consider myself a cheeseburger aficionado. Ordering one from this seaside grill, I wasn’t expecting much, but when I tell you that this burger ranked up there as one of the top 10 best burgers I have had.

At 2:30 we met by the bar near the pier for our Sunset catamaran cruise through Island Routes. After a tour along the coast while drinking more great tropical cocktails, we stopped at Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville along the “hip strip”. I’ve been to Margaritaville in Key West, but this was nothing like it at all. Set along the rocky shoreline, there are huge terraces overlooking the ocean. From the top terrace you can access the 120 foot waterslide that dumps you right into the warm waters of the Caribbean and into their water playground that includes water trampolines, a log cross, and a floating deck. Back on the boat again, we witnessed a beautiful sunset, drank more island cocktails, and munched on some fresh fruit while dancing barefoot on deck.

When we got back to the resort, overdosed with sun and fun, I was in for another great treat tonight, so I went to my room and got dressed for dinner at Oleander with a couple of new girlfriends. It was here that I tried Lobster Thermidor for the first time, and I hope it is this good at other places because I am going to have to try it again. And if not at home, then it looks like another trip to Jamaica needs to be made soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb