The End.


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I got back to the States a few days ago, which means that this will be the final chapter of my Roatan blogging. I know I haven’t exactly kept up with the blog, but I still need closure. My last few days in Roatan were spent seeing friends, hanging at the beach, and diving. Saying goodbye to my Roatan friends, who had become family to me, was really difficult. Not gonna lie- I cried. More than once. I know that someday I’ll go back to Roatan, but it won’t be the same. Things change fast there and people come and go quickly, but I hope that I’ll see everyone again sometime. Somewhere.

Being back in the States is weird. Everything is basically the same but I have a completely different perspective. Upon arrival in Philadelphia I was not only outsmarted by an automatic faucet, but also way too amused at the moving sidewalk in the airport. I’ve found myself laughing out loud in stores due to the ridiculous customer service and insane amount of choices. The consumerism here is overwhelming. I find myself wandering aimlessly around stores, gaping at walls of shampoo and unnecessary kitchen gadgets, prompting concerned store employees to ask if I need any help. Not only that, but the weather is different as well. I wake up with dry eyes and a dry throat because of the lack of humidity in the air. I have yet to wear anything but a sweatshirt and jeans, even though everyone else is frolicking in shorts and tank tops.

There are good things as well, though. Seeing my friends has been really wonderful. And the food choices here are absolutely fantastic. Vegetarian Shanghai chicken from the Chinese restaurant? Tofurky and cheese sandwiches? Yes please! Not to mention the sheer amount of food that’s sold in stores (though I have yet to get past the gawking phase and actually buy anything). I can drink tap water. I can do laundry in my house and not have to lug it through West End. I always have hot water- very necessary when I’m always cold.

I love having a car and being able to drive anywhere I want, and not feeling stuck at home at night. But I don’t like not being able to walk anywhere and having to use a car. I like not being constantly sticky and sweaty,
Things I don't miss...Things I don't miss...Things I don't miss...

Including ants who want to help me do the dishes.
but I miss being warm. Instead of going to the beach and diving I go shopping and….um, more shopping? Haven’t yet really figured out what there is to do here that doesn’t directly involve consumption.

I knew that coming back would be bittersweet, but I do miss Roatan a lot. It’s weird coming “home” but feeling homesick for somewhere else. I guess until I adjust a little more I’m just doomed to be that freak in the sweatshirt who can’t figure out what toothbrush to buy. Talk about first world problems.

Anyway, if you’ve made the effort to read through all my blogs this past year, thanks! I apologize for not being more consistent. It’s really been an absolutely amazing year. I’ve learned so much, gained new hobbies, gotten a new appreciation for a lot of things that we take for granted in the first world, and made some really incredible friends. It's time for my next adventure!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



19th June 2012

Welcome Back!
Rachel, Reading this blog made me miss you and Roatan so much! I laughed as well, understanding all too well the 'first' world dilemas you described.. trust me, it never really goes away - you've been forever changed ;) Hope you continue to enjoy adjusting! We must try and catch up soon.
19th June 2012
My last Roatan sunset

Endings are beginnings...
So glad you had such a grand adventure and can see things differently now! All the best for the next phase!
19th June 2012

Beautifully put
I get what you mean
22nd September 2012
My last night

ARMZ
THAT GUY HAS BEAUTIFUL ARMS.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb