Paranoia, and Avocado Overload


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
September 2nd 2011
Published: September 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Call me paranoid, but I think the mosquitoes are reading my blog. If you’ve been following my rantings this past month, you’ll have noticed that I mention mosquitoes almost every time I post. The last few times that I posted, however, I was optimistic about the mosquito situation and even forgot to mention them in my most recent post because I was so excited about everything else that I had done. Unfortunately for me, the mosquitoes must have been feeling left out and wanted to get back in the spotlight. This week was really brutal- It was hot and incredibly humid, and the air was thick with mosquitoes. They were in the classrooms. They were on the playground. They were in my kitchen. They were in my shower (not cool). Right now I am absolutely covered in mosquito bites, and have woken up in the middle of the night in fits of scratching. I get it, mosquitoes. You win.
I’m sorry. Mosquitoes make me cranky. New topic!
This month, I’m house-sitting with one of my friends (another teacher) in Sandy Bay. This does mean that I now have to actually make an effort to get to school, instead of
What my mosquito bites turned intoWhat my mosquito bites turned intoWhat my mosquito bites turned into

I should really work on self-control...
just walking out my front door, but the house is really nice and I think it will be very good for my mental health. Living at the school was fine, but it’s nice to have some separation between work and home.
The house that I’m staying in is really awesome. Some of the things I’m most excited about:
-A microwave. You have no idea how wonderful microwaves are until you don’t have one.
-The stove has a pilot light. This means NOT having to singe my fingers every time I want to cook.
-There are tons of fruit trees in the backyard!! We have mangoes, avocados, bananas, and breadfruit growing. Some of the avocados even drop right onto the deck, so in the morning I go out and collect the avocados that fell overnight. I’ve already eaten avocados and mangoes (waiting for the bananas and breadfruit to ripen), and they’re delicious. This may become dangerous, however, as I have already started eating multiple avocados a day. They're small ones, but still. If I begin looking a little chunkier in my pictures, blame the avocados.
-The house is just down a driveway so we can walk to the main road and catch a taxi. This is exciting after living somewhere that I had to either walk about 10 min. down a dirt road, or call a taxi at night since the road wasn’t safe to walk.
-There’s a washing machine at the house! No more doing mass amounts of laundry in my shower and/or lugging it into town!
-Hot water. Although this is pretty far down on my list of exciting things, since I still haven’t actually used hot water. I did, however, get thoroughly confused when I turned on the shower and it wasn’t immediately cold.

I just re-read this list and realized that most of this probably doesn’t seem that exciting to people living other places. But I guess my standards of “luxury” have really changed since moving here. Don’t make fun of me for my excitement over microwaves, washing machines, and stoves that don’t burn me. Oh, also, I’ve gotten used to being constantly sweaty, even at night when I sleep- I’ve slept on top of my sheets every night since I’ve been here. But last night, I was actually cool enough that I pulled the sheets up to cover my feet. It was epic.


Advertisement



3rd September 2011

Somehow you make everything mundane sounds awesome and entertaining
"But last night, I was actually cool enough that I pulled the sheets up to cover my feet. It was epic" <3
4th September 2011

Nice!
How nice to have some "luxuries"! How did you come to find a house to "sit"? Those mosquitoes are nasty. Does bug repellent work? But maybe you don't want to be wearing it 24/7!
4th September 2011

pix?
How about some pictures of the interior of the house? And are you using DEET and did you try the dryer sheets?

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb