What is this, some 3rd world country?


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
August 20th 2011
Published: August 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It’s my birthday weekend! Yesterday, for my actual birthday, some friends and I went out to Thai food (yummm) and then planned on hanging out in West End for the night. Unfortunately, my birthday present this year was a tropical storm. Harvey, to be exact (and to all my TCNJ Wolfe 4 people, I much prefer my dustball-pet Harvey to the storm Harvey). After dinner it wasn’t even raining yet, but we started hearing people say that there was going to be a curfew. We wandered around for a bit anyway, and then around 9PM a bunch of cops starting coming out and closing down all the West End establishments. At this point, for the first time in my life, on my 22nd birthday, I had a 10 o’clock curfew, created by Honduras and enforced by the police. After we got back home there was some wind and rain, but it didn’t get too bad until later at night. Harvey, we’re in a fight. You cut my birthday short. But it’s okay because I still had fun, and we’re planning on going out either tonight or next weekend to make up for it.

This morning, and last night, I briefly didn’t have power or water, but I’m beginning to see that this will be a fairly common occurrence, especially as we head deeper into rainy season.
In other news, a couple of days ago I had my first glimmer of hope in my losing battle against mosquitoes. I was sitting here on my computer and felt something crawling on me, which is pretty common, but when I looked down it was a mosquito. It wasn’t biting me, though; it was just taking a stroll on my arm. Of course I immediately killed it anyway (I know I don’t usually kill bugs, but if mosquitoes have no mercy for me then I’m going to show them the same courtesy), but the fact that it didn’t immediately land and start sucking my blood gives me hope. Am I maybe, possibly, actually building up immunity? Or did I just have some weirdo mosquito who didn’t get the memo that I’m fresh blood just waiting to be harvested? Only time will tell, but I’m cautiously optimistic that the worst may be over with the little buggers.

I also finally explored the water outside the palapa (a big deck over the water), which is basically in the backyard of the school. It’s a little inlet, with lots of seaweed and surrounded by mangroves, and I’ve been told that there’s a crocodile who lives there. But apparently it doesn’t bother people. But that’s still not very comforting when I’m swimming in slightly murky water, just waiting for a crocodile to emerge from the depths. Luckily I did not end up seeing a crocodile and in fact mostly just saw seaweed, although with my seaweed phobia I wasn’t too thrilled about this either. I also saw what I think was a sea cucumber, and what I think was maybe a rock fish although that’s just a complete guess. But it was cool. I also saw a barracuda which made me a tad uneasy, especially when I glanced away for a second and then couldn’t see where it had swum off to. Luckily I survived the snorkeling without having anything attack me, with the exception of something random that made my ear sting for a bit.

Finally, I also had a new “never thought I would have to say this to a kid” moment….”Stay away from the machete on the playground”. When another teacher returned the machete to its owner, and asked that they please not leave large sharp objects on the playground, the guy was completely nonchalant. I guess machetes are fairly commonplace around here.

By the way, on a side note, I have to say that I really love getting comments from people on my blog (and if you haven’t commented but want to, all you have to do is scroll down and find the Comment section). It’s not like you HAVE to comment, but it does make me feel a little more like I’m actually communicating with real people and not just talking to myself. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.


Advertisement



20th August 2011

HARVEY
HARVEY!!!!!!!!!!!!
20th August 2011

Glad you finally had a Happy Birthday
Dear Rachel, Sounds like even through your getting bitten, etc., you seem to be handling all of this very well. Much better than I. One bug and I would have been on the first plan back. I'm sure everything will work out and it looks like you have a nice bunch of girls with you. You write beautifully, so keep the blogs coming. Love you, Great Aunt Joy
20th August 2011

What fun!
Rachel, you're having so many new and interesting experiences and your writing is such fun to read. You always make me laugh. How exciting this must be! Sorry to hear your party was cut short by Harvey and glad it wasn't too bad of a storm. Talk to you soon!
21st August 2011

Such adventures!
I hope that hurricane Irene passes you by. We are supposed to get it at the end of the week. Sorry your birthday celebration was cut short. I remember the storms in St. Lucia and not having water quite often. That was even worse than not having electricity because it was so hot and we couldn't wash off.
29th August 2011

and you want me to visit?
dearest rachel, your stories of barred windows, non-existent safes, questionable animals, bugs, and waters are not helping me think about visiting you. However, I will leave my labels behind and bring on the teva sandals to visit you. I have to hide half these stories from my mom, so she feels safe sending me there. miss you!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb