More Copan...


Advertisement
Published: October 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Canopy tourCanopy tourCanopy tour

fun stuff!!!
Hola! Still in Copan and my last class is tomorrow. While I don't feel confident enough to carry on a full conversation in Spanish, I feel 100 times better than I did after my first class. I've had a chance to 'chat' with a few locals and while it's a test of their patience, I do understand a bit and only manage to make them giggle a few times with my terrible grammer. Better yet, I love how I sound and if you didn't know Spanish, you'd be impressed, lol!

The last couple days have been fun, class from 8-12 then the rest of the day to explore. I did a canopy tour, zip lining along the tree tops. Holy moley, a person can get going on those things, muy rapido! A couple of times I didn't slow myself down enough and thought I may have hurt the Honduran safety guy. He said he was okay and I didn't see any bones sticking out but I know I was coming in very hot. But it was amazing to be up above the trees, looking down (thankfully I'm no afraid of heights), smelling some of the fragrances from the flowers and feeling the much needed breeze. I had two guys with me and one took my camera and took heaps of pics, even a couple of videos, super cool. By the way, you are the brakes, you use your hand, which is in a glove lined with rubber, to pull behind you to slow down. Those rubber lined gloves get smoking hot!

Yesterday I went to Macaw Bird Park and got to see those amazing birds up close, even closer than I'd thought I would. This park is a great place and encourage anyone in Copan to make time for it. Started by a fellow, Lloyd, from Tennessee and they take in exotic birds for rehabiliation or rescue. I don't advocate keeping animals in cages but many of the birds were pets for 10, 20 years so many don't know how to fend for themselves. Some are able to fly free but always come back. All birds are treated with care. I had the pleasure to meet Lloyd, he said he came to Honduras 30 years ago on a fishing trip and never went back. The park is serene, natural and simply peaceful. They had many birds, macaws, toucans, owls, parrots, only birds indigenous to the area.

Today I went to Sepulturas, another small ruin site a few kms from the main ruin site but I won't bore you with many pics, yes I took some but I'll save you...

And last, a bit about this great little town. It's quiet, tranquil and everyone is incredibly kind (and patient). It's nestled in the hills, hence the huge canopy tour, and the streets are paved with stone. Can make for some bumpy rides but it's all part of the fun. It's incredibly hilly so your rear end gets a work out too 😊 There is just a quiet appeal to this place and if I had the time, I'd love to stay, it's just perfect.

I have one more class, will wander around tomorrow, and will be on my way on Saturday or Sabado for you espanol folk... Have a great weekend!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

My new best friend!My new best friend!
My new best friend!

Made sure our outfits matched, lol!
What? Three birds a bit much?What? Three birds a bit much?
What? Three birds a bit much?

The cages behind are where they eat but after dinner, they are free to fly but most come back, they've got it too good to leave. And no, that bird didn't drop anything on my head...
Las SepulturasLas Sepulturas
Las Sepulturas

Original stone color at the bottom. These structures were erected in 681 AD and some still original finishing.
Las Sepulturas HieroglyphicsLas Sepulturas Hieroglyphics
Las Sepulturas Hieroglyphics

Incredibly well preserved.
Gumbo Limbo TreeGumbo Limbo Tree
Gumbo Limbo Tree

The locals here call this tree 'The Tourist Tree', because it's red and peeling, that made me laugh!
The town of CopanThe town of Copan
The town of Copan

In their central square.
CopanCopan
Copan

The local church in the central square.


4th October 2013

Hola
Looks like you're having a great time and learning something too....Bonus! The town does look super quaint and peaceful and tropical which is a great mix. Amazing pics of the birds, they connected with you cause you could share the menu with them....Hah hah. Enjoy it all. Everything is great on this end so don't hurry back.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb