A Nightmare 20 hour school bus ride!


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Southern » Choluteca
December 21st 2010
Published: February 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So.....

I was stying at El Abergue Hostel in Leon, when I saw they had an offer to go to Guatemala City by bus for $30 I was all over that as I was headed north to see a friend in Torreon Mexico, I asked for info about the bus and was given all I could handle by the gorgeous receptionist Dalia....I proceeded to pay the $30 and she wrote me up a ticket for the bus..


Now I was under the impression that it was a nice bus like that of Tica or Nica Bus, even on the ticket it showed a luxory liner lol, but as I was about to find out everything is not always what it seems lol....The taxi picked me up around 10am I said goodbyes to the staff as they were really nice and not many people there for the few days I was there ( I had a 10 bed dorm to myself for days ). I was headed to where the bus gathers everyone, and what do you think I saw??? YUP sure enough a nicely painted up yellow school bus!!! Now I knew as I stepped on the bus that was not gonna be a fun ride at all, But what I didn't know was how REALLY racist the border patrol in Honduras and El Salvador were gonna be to me. So we all packed on the bus I was the only whitey on the bus as most were from Guatemala and just returning. I bogarded the seat with one of the 3 ladies the twas pleasing to the eye and it helped she had really nice T**s also!! lol


So were all loaded and we were off on our way...after a pitstop in Chinandega for supplies and a smoke, we were off again..The views in the north of Nica is amazing! MANY MANY volcanoes some smoking, some just there, But I loved it very much! As I said in previous postings Nicaragua is Burned in my memories as one of the best places I've been and will forever feel that way. after a few hours we finally reached the Honduran border where we chilled at for about an hour or so, I went over to the Duty free shops and bought a couple beers I was gonna need a buzz for this Fuckin Ride!

So We get back on the bus and start to head down the road, we were apparently in the "no mans land" between borders so we got off again and line up to get our stamps, I paid my $5 to enter and asked every question under the sun..." what are you doing here? where are you going? why are you traveling on a night bus? are you hiding from someone? what are those tattoos? are you affiliated with Mara?" lol I mean seriously...well I guess I can say I have been a victim of Discrimination now, after 35 minutes of questions I was the last to be let back on the bus to head to El Salvador.

About 4 hours later we reached the other borders and it was dark now so the agents came on the bus and "randomly" selected people for ID's and/or Passports...Yup I was the only one chosen...and asked all the same questions again....after another 25 minutes, we were allowed to cross the border into El Salvador where we once again got off I found a guy exchanging Quetzales at a good rate so I changed all I had.We were once again lined up with our Passports and AGAIN I was harrassed I couldn't believe it! SERIOUSLY SON! I was asked to show all tattoos I had and EVERY single stamp in my passport was checked over 3 times efficiently, and again asked all the dumbass questions. By this time the other passengers Were either fed up or laughing at my calamity, which was fine It's not my fault :-).


We get to the El Salvador Border a few minutes away where an outdoor warehouse is set up for all buses going and coming, we waited our turn which ended up being over an hour, then we unloaded everything and brought it onto the floor of a well lit warehouse where drug dogs and Narcos go up and down the line checking everything ( of course mine 3 tiomes with teh dog and all my things pulled out and spread on the floor) and I was once again questioned about everything under the sun, but they seemed to be more cool about shit, they even giggled when they found some little blue pills I got in Costa Rica haha! One of the Narcos was chatting with me about different things, his daughter is living in Virginia, how do you say deficil in english?? blah blah..We finally loaded back up and headed through to Guatemala...The agent got on the bus once again and I was singled out leaving El Salvador, but there is a ray of light...The Guatemalan side was awesome I went in dude asked me how long I needed I said 30 days stamped and done.

It was around 2am at the Guatemalan Border so I wanted to try and get a few hours of sleep, but my ass was killing me from those bus seats seriously the most unconfortable shit ever!! I guess I had dozed off finally and awoke to really hazey mountains and the sky was getting light, so I knew were close to the City, the sunrise over the mountains as you decend down to Guatemala city is truly gorgeous! WE arrived!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YES!!!!!!!!!! I had reservations at Queztalroo Hostel so I got my taxi and headed over around 7am.

I loved the Hostel seriously awesome people and the staff goes way above and beyond to help you with info and such!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Well...I will be catching a flight to Torreon, Mexico so until I write again all the best!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb