The first week of school and more


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Northern » Omoa
August 28th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey,

First of all, I have been really busy with school and haven´t had time to post pictures. I will do that next week hopefully.

To answer some questions. Yes I have met the kids. Most of them are really great, but one of my fourth grade classes is really difficult to handle. All the other teachers agree with me. The structure of the school makes it so I teach 6 classes a day, 2 in fourth grade, 2 in fifth grade, and two in sixth grade. I am also the homeroom teacher for one of the sixth grade classes, which means I am in charge of things, not sure what yet. It is tough teacher six different classes. I have to learn about 130 names and a lot of them are hard to pronounce. One thing I really do not like about the structure is that the students stay in thei class, and the teachers move around from class to class. This makes it difficult because I have to go into their territory instead of them coming into mine. Also the teacher before has usually left, so I walk into an unattended class. This has only really been a problem with the one fourth grade class, but it is a bg problem. I think I am starting to figure out how to deal with them.

My house is pretty nice, and it is about half a block from the school. I will send pictures and tell you more about it next week.

I am speaking some Spanish, but I would like to speak more. We have our teachers meeting in Spanish, which is good and bad. I get to practice Spanish, but there are important things that I dont always understand. I have been able to get by with the Spanish I know, but there is definately a lot more to learn.

I am starting to get used to the humidity. I just have to get used to being covered in sweat pretty much all the time.

I didnt get to watch much of the Olympics after I left. They do show baseball on TV a lot on ESPNDeportes and ESPN2. The second night I was here there was a big world cup qualifying game between Honduras and Mexico. We went to a pulperia down the street to watch it with a bunch of people. A pulperia is a little store that sells a bunch of random stuff. It is like a convenience store, but it doesn´t sell as much and you cant go inside. You have to look through a gate and tell them what you want. Some of them sell beer and usually have a place to drink it, because you have to return the bottle. If you want to take the bottle with you, you pay more. Beer pretty much costs 15 to 20 lempira anywhere you go. It is cheaper to get it at small bars and pulperias because you do not have to pay for the bottle deposit. Back to the soccer game. We watched it at this pulperia down the street where they had a TV set up in the back yard. One of the local teachers that has showed us around took us there. Honduras scored first on a nice goal, which was exciting, but then Mexico scored twice in two minutes to win. The whole town stops to watch the games. As you probably guessed Soccer is huge here. The kids at school are all better than I ever have been.

Keep sending me updates about the States. If you subscribe to my blog, I think you get an email when I post a new entry. Also when you leave comments, I have to review them before they are posted. Chelsey your comment did work. Ill talk to you all next week. We are going to La Ceiba this weekend so hopefully I will have some stories and pictures.

Buenos, Farley

Advertisement



31st August 2008

bottles
They should really make drinks cheaper here too... I mean returning the bottle is not that big of a deal!! ps: do you have a mailing address?
14th September 2008

take me out to the ballgame
Buenos Dias Farley, It's Sunday morning and raining. Luke's still sleeping, stayed up late playing guitar hero with Spencer. Your dad, Cis, Luke and I went to the Rockies game friday night. You probably already know the Rockies bombed. D'Oh! The highlight was they retired EY's number! Low point, your dad missed having you and your buds to bet with. It's been foggy up here off and on for over a week. Just glad we don't live in Houston. Thought I had more to say than about the weather, but I guess I am feeling a little foggy myself. More later. Love ya, jackie
14th September 2008

take me out to the ballgame
Buenos Dias Farley, It's Sunday morning and raining. Luke's still sleeping, stayed up late playing guitar hero with Spencer. Your dad, Cis, Luke and I went to the Rockies game friday night. You probably already know the Rockies bombed. D'Oh! The highlight was they retired EY's number! Low point, your dad missed having you and your buds to bet with. It's been foggy up here off and on for over a week. Just glad we don't live in Houston. Thought I had more to say than about the weather, but I guess I am feeling a little foggy myself. More later. Love ya, jackie

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb