Intro


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Northern » Omoa
August 26th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,

The internet is finally working at the school, so I decided to start this blog. I will try too write entries about what is going on and post pictures here.

It took me a while to get here since my plane in Denver was delayed. I had to stay the night at the Marriot in Miami. When I finally got to the airport in San Pedro Sula, Roy, the cousin of the director of the school was waiting for me. Both my bags arrived, and we drove about 45 minutes to Puerto Cortes. I went to the house and picked out my room. Since so far there are only two of us in the house, I got one of the rooms with a bathroom. I will post pictures later. Right now the only other foreign teacher is a girl from England. She taught in Ecuador last year.

It is really hot and humid here so I am always sweating. I have to drink a lot of water. Four of my six classrooms have air conditioning so that is nice. Also the bugs are pretty bad. There are not really any mosquitos, but little tiny bugs. I am starting to get used to them too.

We have done a lot of exploring around town. The center of town is right near our house and also the weekly market is a few blocks away. We can take the bus to the beach. There is a close beach, but it is kinda dirty. There is a nice beach about 30 minute bus ride away. We are also going to buy bikes soon so that will make it easier to get to the beach. They are about 900 lempira which is about $45.

This weekend we are going to go to La Ceiba, which is about 3 hours away. It has nicer beaches and maybe some scuba diving. It costs 135 Lempira to get there, about $7.

I have taken some pictures that I will post soon. I do not take my camera a lot of places because I dont want it to get stolen. This is not the safest place, but if you are smart I think it is fine.

The ketyboard I am writing on is terrible so this is taking forever. Post any questions on the comments and I will answer them when I get a chance. I will tell you about my classes and post pictures soon. How was the Farley is gone party?



Advertisement



27th August 2008

FARLEY PANTS
Hey Farley! Don't foreign keyboards suck?! I mean why can't they get some nice new ones? And while they are at it, can't we all just get rid of the metric system and all learn to speak english... sure would have made the olympics easier to watch! There has been no Farley is gone PARTY, but i think we may hold a memorial in your honor.... I still need to make a life-sized cut out of you and take it around with us to the bars Jackson is soooo freaking big and for some reason his nose is growing faster than the rest of him... and he's losing the puppy breath smell and converting to just dog breath... sad! Oh... and not surprisingly I still cannot find it in my heart to scold him... just hot dogs
27th August 2008

Sounds like a neat town. Have you met your kids yet? Is your house pretty nice? You having to speak a lot of Spanish? Hope you are enjoying it down there! You getting used to the humidity yet? Love you!
28th August 2008

Aint' the Third World wonderful
When our friends return from Maine I will ask them about all the intricacies of using Skype phone system from over there. They had great success from the Bahamas. Remember the rum is Ron Zacapa Centenario. Its 23 years old and your dad and I expect at lease a bottle a month. Cheers, Dave and Carole
3rd September 2008

beach
can't wait to hear about the beach trips; hoping for some photos (with you IN them!); Karen gave me the blog info today; working for a living is hard work!
5th September 2008

Hey Farley, Uncle Kurt here. Sounds like you are having a blast. I am jealous. Just play croquet with those kids instead of soccer, then maybe you can beat them. I can't wait to get down there to visit. Let me know when and if I am welcome.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb