Poker, Horseshoes and a Wedding


Advertisement
Published: March 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Poker TournementPoker TournementPoker Tournement

The players- Vic, Donray, Scott, Hector, Chino, Kari, JC and Morgan, just before we started
Well, it's been awhile. And the events I am writing about took place sometime ago, but oh well. There's a bunch of us, who, after introducing Hondurans to the lovely game of poker, have enjoyed taking there money every Monday nite (we never said we taught them well, Ja ja.) We meet at Morgans and usually put buy about $L200 in chips and see where we go from there. It is great fun and something to look forward to with the start of the week. We decided it was time to have a tournament, after we became so professional with real chips and even a really nice table top. So one Sunday we all met at Morgs and had the first anual (and probably only, but who cares) Honduran Poker tournament. It was a good time.
Karen had a BBQ a while back at her lovely home up in the mountains, so far away you almost forget your in a foreign country. We spent all day up there after riding in the back of her pick up truck up there. We played with her 4 dogs, 1 cat and 2 birds. We went "hiking" to the highest part of Comayagua and
Poker TournementPoker TournementPoker Tournement

Juan Carlos, Morgan, Vic, Donray and Scott
were able to look down at the whole city and see the church with the binoculars Ed, her husband provided for us. We drank cod beer and ate real cheese. However the highlight of the excursion for me was the discovery of horseshoes! I thought I was lucky enough with darts in Hondo, but oh no, somehow horseshoes found their way here. We set them up and Donray and I were partners against Alisa and Jill. We beat them easily, with Jill, as competative as she is, not scoring a single point! I think she was pretty bitter about it the rest of the evening ha! It was great to play and reminded me so much of home and my last summer there. I cannot wait to play again once back.
There was also a wedding I attended, in true Honduran style... that being, of a 19 year old Honduran girl marrying a 51 year old American.... I'll let you make your own conclusions about this, and tell you right away that you are right! Pictures are here, the wedding was held at Morgan's bar and turned out to be quite a fun nite.
There's about 3 more weeks till
Dana and KariDana and KariDana and Kari

Playing hores shoes at Karen's BBQ
we are on Semana Santa, Easter break and I cannot wait. School is becoming tedious to me and I think I hate it more and more each day. It does't help that this is the semester I reserved to finally get back to actually writing, so I am constantly behind trying to grade essays from 5 different classes! And of course the priorities that this school holds never ceases to amazing me and I often feel like I should have been a futbol coach if I actually ever wanted any time with my students. Then again, that would only be my male students, since sports are not encouraged or emphasized here for the ladies... they can knit or something.
I have begun looking for jobs in Fort Collins for my return..... yes you read that correctly folks, it looks like I'll be in the States for a bit upon my return... go figure. And this time, I think I just may be happy about that... for a bit anyway. Well, remember I still don't think this thing is sending out updates so check it out periodically and tell a friend...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Donray and ScottDonray and Scott
Donray and Scott

Playing shoes
Scott's weddingScott's wedding
Scott's wedding

Lawyer Hector was officiating
Nadia and JavierNadia and Javier
Nadia and Javier

At the wedding


15th March 2007

I'm sad I couldn't go to Karen's. Stupid me getting stupid sick. Can't say the same about the wedding... pictures are enough thanks. lol You must be pumped for Semena Santa. Been awhile since you last dove. That should be very exciting for ya!
23rd March 2007

After So Long?!
C'mon woman, the states aren't nearly as 'exciting' as Honduras so I haven't really found it in me to post a blog, BUT you on the other hand...I check your site every week and I'm only surprised every once in awhile by a new entry... and yours is my favorite to read! Anyhow, hope all is well in hondo and that your job search in the states is going well :) Take care!

Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0867s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb