think twice about roatan


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Roatán
February 16th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I always thought tropical islands would be so beautiful. I was right the island itself is beautiful, but food, service and some of the people were quite the opposite. I will write briefly for now. I really would like to get Jose at the passport stamping booth for leaving the country fired. This was the most disrespectful man I have ever met. A couple years ago he would not let my wife ( who is a native of roatan) leave the country without permission from her mom. She is my wife with an american resident green card visa that wouldnt expire for two years. Why would I need her moms permission when her mom signed papers when we got married saying that I was now responsible for her and that she was mine. My wife whom I am responsible for taking care of. This is the kind of crookedness and corruption that drives me crazy. I got in a verbal fight with him because I was going to lose both of our flights and my job if I didnt get on that plane. There was only one plane leaving the island per week to the states. After I told him I knew the mayor and demanded that he call him, he went and made a quick phone call and soon returned letting me finally board the plane which we almost missed. I really didnt know the mayor , so I know this was all the customs agents idea for getting a little bribe form the tourists. His name is Jose, and he tried it again on my wife this year when I wasnt there. She called me and told me she couldnt board. I was furious, she had to take a taxi across the island to try and get her marriage papers. Of course she couldnt get her papers from the office and a lady told her to pay $30 and she could get her through if she didnt tell anyone that she payed her a bribe. I am not letting this go, I have more stories of horrible food and worse service, as well as truly beautiful places to go and genuine real island people that are a pleasure to meet and stay with off the beaten path where you get a true sense of real local life. One last word, stay away from the car rental place in the airport, they ripped me off too. I looked them in the eye and told them I knew they took advantage of me and their was nothing I could do because they already ran my credit card, they just looked at me and smiled. They knew they ripped me off and didnt even apologize, they just laughed. I dont like this attitude and they shouldnt get away with it. thanks for tuning in and I will post more later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb