Provision


Advertisement
Haiti's flag
Central America Caribbean » Haiti
June 24th 2009
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Before the actual trip started, God was working. On Thursday, I received a check for $100 in my name from one of my supporters. I thought that it was strange that the check would come in my name since I had told all of my supporters to make it out to Mission Haiti. The check also came with a note "Use this for the Lord's work." I thought "Ok Lord, time for you to lead me, what do I do with this? Do I deposit it and then send a check to Mission Haiti? What do you want me to do with this?" I deposited the check, that was the first thing that I had to do anyway, whether I sent a check to Mission Haiti or used the $100 for something else. I kept saying "Abba, please reveal what you want this money to be used for.

As I was packing on Friday to leave for Haiti on Saturday, I still wasn't sure what to do with the money. I realized while packing that I had a lot of supplies, some of the things were a little heavy, but I knew without a doubt that it all had to go to Haiti. They were almost out of food at the orphanage and needed everything that I was bringing. After I had completed packing came the hard part, weighing the bags. I picked the first bag up and put it on the scale. Oh boy! Definitley over 50lbs. When I looked at the scale, it said 67. Yikes! Then I weighed the other, 62 pounds, oh goodness! I knew that there was a $25 charge for each bag if they were over 50lbs, how was I going to pay for that? Then, this thought came to my mind "Um hello? You have money!" Of course! That is what that $100 check was for! I will have $50 left over that I can just donate to Mission Haiti after the bags are paid for. But then it occured to me, what if Megan's (the YWAM Mpls staff person that led the trip) bags are over 50lbs? I could use the other $50 for her bags! This is just great!

YWAM MN staff picked me up and we were on our way. Had great conversations in the car and then we we arrived at the airport. It was quite the adventure trying to get the almost 70lbs bags out of the van. Megan and I rolled our luggage into the airport and put in onto the luggage scale they had. Hers were 47 and 52, great, no problem. Then mine went on the scale, 69lbs and 70 lbs, ouch! After we waited in line thenext attendent called us to the counter, Megan put her bags on on the counter scale first. Thankfully the attendent let the 2lbs on the 52lbs bag slide. We will have $50 left over from the $100 check. Megans bags went on the belt. Then it was mine turn, here it goes. Yep, both were about 70 lbs. But I didn't worry because I remembered that I had the $100, and it only costs $25 a bag if they are over 50lbs. Then the clerk said something that I wasn't expecting "It will be a $50 charge for each of the bags. Are you sure you want to do that?" "What?" I replied. I thought that it was $25?" "No, $50. Can you move anything to any other bags?" I replied with a no. But then I realized, I have $100! God knew that this was going to happen and he provided! I said "Please charge it to my card." She looked at me like I was crazy. "Are you sure?" I confidantly said "Yes." Then thought to myself, because I have a God who provides and works for the good of those who love him (Romans 8:28).

This is why I do what I do. I long to see my God glorified and give all the credit to him. Praises that we serve a Lord who provides!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1007s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb