Antigua pt. 2


Advertisement
Published: November 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Continuing our week-long vacation in Antigua 😊

I ended part 1 with Roger's win against the Estonian guy in Chess. The day after that was Sunday, and the Vikings were playing the Cowboys. We found a pretty Americanized bar the night before and went back to watch the game (and eat Chili fries mmmm). There was another Vikings fan there - he was from MN originally, but had been moving around a lot and had actually been living in Guatemala for a few years with his wife and kiddos. There was also a table of Cowboys fans behind us (ughh). It sucked when the Vikes lost -- everyone knew who the 3 Vikings fans were!

The next day was MONDAY NOVEMBER 5th - AKA the day we saw VICTOR WOOTEN. For those of you who don't know (which I assume to be most, as I had no idea who he was before Roger told me all about him), Wooten is a famous bassist -- I know... there are, apparently, bassists who are famous by themselves. Whoda thunk it? Anyways - Wooten is an amazing bassist, and actually a really cool guy. He's very zen and believes that music is just like a language. He compares leaning how to play an instrument to learning how to speak a new language. He runs a music camp that has a huge focus on being out in nature too -- pretty strange, but super rad. We heard he was going to be in town through a friend of ours studying in Costa Rica. Tickets were about $50 - affordable (for now at least!) and totally worth it since Roger really looks up to him. It was actually a 3 hour workshop before and then about an hour break and then a 2 hour show. We stood in line for over an hour before they let us all in. And of course, we find out cameras aren't allowed in moments before they let us all in. Roger sprinted back to our hostel to drop it off while I stood at the door so he could be let in without waiting in line all over again. During the workshop people were invited to ask him and his band any question they wanted. They answered questions ranging from "How did you all meet?" to "Can you teach me how to play harmonics?" -- and they all really answered every question. We wanted to get autographs and meet the bandmembers but we misunderstood when they were doing the meet-and-greet. Apparently it was after the workshop... we thought it was after the concert so we totally missed out,but it was still a great time. We were in the front row - all the seats were above the stage though -- but the musicians would come over and say hi and pose for pictures right in front of us. It was a really intimate setting and just a wonderful show!

The next day we left pretty early to try and get back to Xela. We ended up on a 1st class bus, instead of a chicken bus for the long ride. Basically we paid 20Q more, had our own seats, were able to buy empanadas and home made banana bread and the bus went so much slower, it actually felt safe! I think it was totally worth it ha the banana bread alone made it worth it!

The rest of the week was spent catching up at TRAMA and doing the normal stuff. We've done about a million loads of laundry (in our bathtub ha!) and then went shopping today and now have to do MORE laundry! I did buy a purse today (totally unnecessary) but it's a vintage (authentic) Coach purse. Super classic and timeless and I got it for about $14. Pretty much unheard of in the states. I got crazy lucky!

I have a job interview to be an English teacher tomorrow - ooh and I also have to call the IRS tomorrow! I hope they don't put me on hold - that will end up being an expensive phone call if they do! My student loan payment stuff isn't able to be done all online, like I originally thought, and they need me to mail in paper copies of all my forms, plus my recent taxes. Obviously, I didn't bring my tax papers with me to Guatemala darnit!

Anyways - We're taking it pretty easy tonight; Spanish TV and mugs of Jamaica tea (ha-my-ka) -- hibiscus flower tea. Pretty tasty stuff.

Besos amigos!

(No pictures today -- sorry!)

Advertisement



11th November 2013

Raining leaves
Love thinking of your superb fall expeditions while expediting all these beautiful leaves!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb