Markets, finishing classes, and shaky beds


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last night I woke up and felt my bed shake a bit. I asked about it and it was a small earthquake. It was nothing of consequence for those that have felt them in California and places like that, but enough to remind me of the forces of the earth that control a lot of the history here. The other student staying in my house was asleep and didn't believe me when I asked about it. Apparently, last year Xela experienced about 100 earthquakes. Most of them are so small people don't even know they occured... and tomorrow I will climb a volcano that is connected with the whole amazing system of underground turmoil.
Today I finished two weeks of intensive Spanish school. What a great experience! I wish I had two more weeks. I might have even gotten to speak in the past tense! I'm going to have to work hard to retain it all.
Today I went to the market in a town called San Fransisco de Alto. If you've been to an open air market anywhere in the world, you may have an idea of the experience. I was reminded of Israel, Africa, Korea, and even the flea
 Graves in a Cemetery Wall Graves in a Cemetery Wall Graves in a Cemetery Wall

Some of the poorer people only rent the cemetery wall space until nature does her business and then the remains are removed. These spaces have some pretty old dates and I'm guessing these are for permanent residents.
market in Amsterdam. What a wonderful feast of colors and people. There was everything you could imagine, but mostly animals, clothing, food and traditional textiles. Take a look at the photos.
Some of you are going on some neat trips yourselves. Where are your travel logs?????


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Lots of gravesLots of graves
Lots of graves

A step back to see more of what the graves look like. Used to think I would prefer to be cremated when the time comes, but now I think a green burial is better for the Earth. .
Mayan market ladiesMayan market ladies
Mayan market ladies

Mayan women selling their wares. It's beautiful here...Overcrowed, millions of colors, and lots of pickpockets. Life as the average Mayan villager sees it


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb