Xela (Quetzaltenango)


Advertisement
Published: January 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just arrived in GuatemalaJust arrived in GuatemalaJust arrived in Guatemala

On my way to Xela taken from inside a chicken bus. You can see another one at the right side.
It was a long waiting for me to get to Guatemala. I had a wunderful leave from Mexico and an interesting arrival at Guatemala.
After having my first Chicken Bus trip for about three hours full of advanture, I arrived in Xela and went directly to a Spanish school, where I spent five days of 5 hours a day for private spanish lessons. This included living with a Guatemalan family, where I could learn very fast about this country and its culture, well for sure not everything but enough to integrate.
Xela itself did not atract me so much, yet it has very nice people that are ready to help whenever I needed and asked for it.
The days are warm (January) and nights are cold enough to have three blankets. The food was great, especially that the nany (Carmen) of the family I stayed with was a Mayan and I had the chance to taste some of their delicious food.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

At Spanish School in XelaAt Spanish School in Xela
At Spanish School in Xela

Here it takes only a little time to get Guatemalian
The family I stayed with in XelaThe family I stayed with in Xela
The family I stayed with in Xela

Three generations live in this family together. Stefani is in my arms and beside me is Karina another student from California.


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 12; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb