Clinic Day 3


Advertisement
Published: February 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today we were at San Jorge la Laguna and it was one of our busiest clinic days we’ve had so far! Today was also the first day that we needed two translators, one translator to go from kakchiquel to Spanish, and another to go from Spanish to English. It was so cool to hear kakchiquel spoken, and by the end of the day I was able to pick up on a couple of words. The clinic was a short walk from the water which only made me want to head to the lake that much more! My stomach was a little better today but I still didn’t want to chance it so at lunch I decided to not eat the meat and instead just eat rice, tortillas, vegetables and Jamaica juice. We didn’t have any notable cases today and before I knew it the day was practically over! We still had to wait for some of the veterinary patients to wake up from surgery so we all had some time to kill. Down the road where the dentists were working I saw Amanda and some of the other volunteers playing soccer with the kids so of course I went over to see if I could join in. I got to play a little bit but stopped very soon after; I’m short but obviously the kids who were playing with us were shorter so when I kicked the ball it was just my luck that it would hit a kid in the face. It happened twice… to the same little girl. I felt horrible so I retired early. Soon after we got onto the bus and headed back to the hotel. I really wanted to go check out the lake before it got dark so Brandy and I went down to the lake while Megan took a nap. The water was insanely high; you could see the remains of what used to be some sort of structure that was now engulfed by water. I tried to take some pictures but they didn’t turn out too great; we walked around for a little bit before going to the hotel to get Megan. Brandy and Megan wanted to go to a restaurant called Guajimbo’s so we headed there but just next door I spotted a Mexican restaurant. I was dying to have Mexican food so I decided to eat at the Mexican restaurant instead of Guajimbo’s. Halfway through Brandy and Megan’s meal I made my way over to the Mexican restaurant to get my dinner. I ordered tacos and horchata but what I once had thought was a good idea slowly starting running downhill. The tacos and horchata didn’t taste good at all; I was beyond disappointed so I only made it through 1 and a half tacos and less than half of the horchata. It’s not that it wasn’t cooked properly, because it all was, it just tasted bad. After my disappointing dinner Brandy and Megan met me at the Mexican restaurant and from there we headed back to the hotel. I was super excited to shower at the hotel because, well, I needed to shower, but also because I was freezing cold! I had worn my t-shirt and jeans with tennis when we went out but clearly that wasn’t good enough because I was frozen the entire time. I was expecting the shower to be cold has the showers heater had the same set up as the one at the home stay. Plot twist! The shower was on the warmer side of lukewarm, maybe because I was freezing from being outside? I’ll take it. I’m getting ready for bed and excited for another clinic day tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb