Lava, What Lava?


Advertisement
Published: March 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Holy Frijoles,
Just a few days ago Travis and I climbed Vocano Pacaya. HOnestly words cannot describe this experience. It was spiritual. We had no idea when we signed up for the trip that we would have the opportunity to climb to the summit. Pacaya is 1.25 miles high and the hike to get there is over two miles. We were winded after fifteen minutes of hiking the trail. After an hour an a half we reached a beautiful plateau that overlooked Guatemala City and the surrounding farm land. From that point we had a 360 degree view of the verdant landscape covered with more volcanos. We were also standing on Pumus sand from the daunting black hill towering over us. The wind began to pick up to about 30mph and the low growl of the volcano sounded like distant thunder that can shake the earth. Before we decided to climb to the crest we read the warning sign bewaring us of poisonous gases and risk of lava flow. It said the climb would take 30 minutes so we decided to go. As I began the ascent I was already exhuasted from the trek to the base of the hill, but I was determined. There were dogs climbing with us which was comforting and inspirational. I wasn´t going to let a famished street dog show me up. Climbling the nearly vertical hill side was very difficult because it is literally like climbing up a sand dune the size of a football stadium. The difference is that you are walking on Pumus stone which is very light weight and looks like a sponge and sliding down 4 inches for every 12 that you take. Up and up and up I climbed and with each step I was putting my legs to the test. I have never had such a challenging physical workout. When I finally made it to what I thought was the top I was on the South end of the summit. This was really cool because the wind was blowing very hard and there was steam risisng from below my feet. Then I heard a huge "THOOM" like the sound a potato cannon would make and right before my eyes large amounts of molten lava were thrust across the sky. At this point I was very overwhelmed with a myriad of emotions. We watched there for about five minutes and then began to climb again. I was only wearing a t-shirt and the wind was so strong and cold that I was beggining to lose feeling in my arms and hands. We hiked for another ten minutes to the north end of the volcano and up to the edge of the crest where we were standing just above the crator. Then another huge growl and "THOOM" the crator thrusts huge globs of lava twenty feet into the air and it is carried off the south side by the wind. This was amazing because the sun seems to be within reach and the steam from the hill is thick as clouds as it rushes past and through your body. We watched in awe for about fifteen minutes and then began our descent which was suprisingly alot of fun because one can´t slowly walk down step by step because it is too steep so you must take giant leaps and semi ski your way down while plunging deep into the rocks with each step. It was a great time and an experience I will never forget. Now I am in XELA named Quetzaltenango and we are about to go on a churh tour of small towns including the first church to ever be built in Guatemala in 1524. If you get a chance you should check out www.gozombie.com and read what Travis has to say about this whole thing.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb