Adios Flores ISland!


Advertisement
Published: March 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We are currently waiting for our bus to whisk us away, first back to the city and then on to Antigua and Lake Atitlan. I´m sitting here in a cute little internet cafe, listening to the hum of a fan, the sound of mopeds and tuk tuks and feeling the heat rising off of my crispy, burnt skin. Today was a good day! We were able to take a boat ride over to the next island and swim and tan ( or fry ' you know ' tomato, tomato, aye ' when you type them you don´t get the different inflections but you know what I mean, wait, where was I?)

Ah yes, here I am. This island is beautiful. I haven´t been swimming in over a year or two, so jumping into the lake was a real treat. The little fishies nibble at your toes while you sit and soak up the sun. A frosty coke in one hand and all the time in the world in the other. Its bizarre, this not doing anything specifically ' if that makes sense. On the way over we passed by several comorants and an island owned by the family who makes the country´s famous, and very tasty beer, Gallo. The beer is great and though I do expect prices to be much lower away from this area, your dollar does go far.

There are a lot of tourists and if I never hear another story from some over privileged douche kid about how wasted they´ve been and the inconveniences of travel I´ll have lived a happy life. You see...when traveling its the other tourists that annoy you ' rarely the locals, as you expect to mend and sway with their culture and traditions. My Spanish is improving daily and I really do love this place.



Adios Flores ISland!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb