Day 21 - Flores


Advertisement
Published: September 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Sunset Sunset Sunset

sunset
Flores is a small beautiful island on Lago Peten Izta which you can access from Santa Elena. It didn't seem like there was a huge amount to do here apart from chill out, go for a swim in the lake, or kayaking.

After a long 13 hour bus journey the day before, I decided that I wanted to take it easy and not wake up too early. Because I had extra time in bed to catch up on lost sleep, I decided that I would like to do kayaking for an hour or two in the afternoon and then do the group plan in the evening which involved drinking alcohol, chilling and watching the sunset.

As I planned to go kayaking in the afternoon I had some spare time in the morning, so I walked over to Santa Elena with some of the group and we stocked up on alcohol for the subset party and we found this supermarket with a big selection of booze. I brought a 2tlr bottle of Botran XL rum for 60 quetzals which is about 6 pounds and, although it's local stuff, it tasted pretty good. After shopping for booze, I chilled by the
View from my hotel View from my hotel View from my hotel

View from my hotel
lake for an hour before my first attempt at kayaking.

The kayaking was pretty good, although literally after a few minutes of getting into my kayak for the first time, some of the group thought it would be funny to sink my kayak! Luckily we didn't loose any of my valuables that I had in the kayak.

In the evening the group and myself got on a boat which took us to another side of the lake where it was nice and quiet; there we had hammocks, music, alcohol, a lake to jump and swim in, and a beautiful sunset view. It was an amazing experience and I remembered thinking to myself how cool it was to be miles away from home and just chilling and not having to worry about the life that I live back in England.

After witnessing the sunset view, we headed back to our hotel but stopped off for food first. I was brave and attempted some street food; I had a chicken fajita and a large piece of chocolate lake, which came to about 70p in British currency. It tasted pretty good but the chocolate cake was like the biggest slice
Me kayakingMe kayakingMe kayaking

Me kayaking
of cake ever!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



11th October 2013
View from my hotel

Great view
Fantastic

Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 29; qc: 144; dbt: 0.1597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb