My first steps in Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: December 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

I am writing from Flores, Guatemala, where it is raining! Luckily this has been a VERY unusual occurrence while I have been travelling through North and Central America.

Since I last wrote, I have seen many stunning parts of Mexico with my Intrepid group, travelled through Belize, including two days on Caye Caulker island where there are no cars and you can pad down the sandy streets in your bare feet, and have now arrived in Guatemala which on first impressions is a beautiful and friendly country.

The group I am travelling with is loads of fun and we have done so many interesting things. We have hiked in the jungle, bombed through the Sumidera Canyon in a speed boat, visited several Mayan ruins including the famous Chichen Itza, snorkelled on the world´s second largest reef (which is in Belize) with sting rays and nurse sharks, visited a traditional Mayan household and sampled their freshly prepared tortillas, seen some amazing waterfalls, swum in the natural pools and cenotes, waded or canoed through huge caves, seen loads of wildlife, explored many pretty towns such as Merida, Palenque, Playa del Carmen, Tulum and San Ignacio. We have gone tubing down a Belizean river, danced into the night to reggae, been serenaded by local musicians, tried out numerous (cheap!) cocktails, swung in hammocks, slept in huts on a gorgeous white sand beach where we could chill out on the swing seats at the bar in our bikinis and sarongs at night, and get up in the morning to watch the sun rise over the Caribbean Sea. Each place we visit seems to be more fun and fascinating than the one before, and I am really looking forward to seeing more of Guatemala over the next week.

Now and again I spot people putting up Christmas decorations, or end up in a bar on a balmy evening only to see a Christmas tree standing in the corner, and I remember that London must be preparing for Christmas too, and that I am soon coming home to a traditionally COLD December. I am looking forward to that (only 9 days until I fly), but will miss this life too, and the new friends I have made.

Goodbye for now and see you all soon!

Lots of love xxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

A mid-snorkel lunch breakA mid-snorkel lunch break
A mid-snorkel lunch break

on San Pedro island, Belize, with some of my holiday buddies
Canoeing at Barton´s Creek, one of Belize´s biggest caves..Canoeing at Barton´s Creek, one of Belize´s biggest caves..
Canoeing at Barton´s Creek, one of Belize´s biggest caves..

..which I am about to attempt to steer into
Juan Carlos, known to everyone as JCJuan Carlos, known to everyone as JC
Juan Carlos, known to everyone as JC

with the biggest smile of all the tour leaders I know!
And finallyAnd finally
And finally

I have been finding some very beautiful spots to write my daily journal updates


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb