Pirates and Missionaries


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rio Dulce, the city almost by the sea. Wondering how to spend my time, I go and visit the Castillo de San Philippe. The fortress was built during the 1500's to combat pirates who were raiding the merchant ships along the river and to protect the town.

It is fairly easy to get to the site, just jump in a taxi.
Returning is a different matter all together.

I find it necessary at this point in my story to mention that the fortress is four miles outside of town. I found myself contemplating this very dilemma over a bottle of water in a little comedor (eatery) as I watched the heat rising from the asphalt. As I wiped the sweat from my forehead I thought four miles, maybe I should get another bottle of water.

"Hello"
I turn to see two young men in slacks and ties, each with a name tag sporting their names and that they were with a church.
"Hi", I replied, but privately thinking:
I wonder if I can catch a ride?

We exchanging pleasantries and entered into a brief conversation.
"What church are you with?" I asked.
"Have you ever heard of the Church of Mormon?"
"Uh - yep."
Good ol Joseph Smith with his gold tablets and magic rocks. (I decided it best not to mention this part aloud).
"So what are you doing here in Guatemala?" I ventured. (Expecting the normal response of most church groups: that they are helping the community, educating in the schools, etc).
"We are missionaries, spreading the word of our church."
Yes, that's exactly what these people need, no matter that many are starving and most are barely able to make ends meet.

We finish our drinks and get up to leave.
Now its decision time, do I subject myself to possible brainwashing or challenge the relentless heat of the Guatemalan sun...four miles...it's not too far...
"Would it be possible to catch a ride with you?" I ask.
"Well you see, the vehicle is for missionaries only."
(WHAT?!? You have got to be kidding me. I was under the impression that missionaries helped people in need, what was I thinking?).
"No problem." I say as I walk pass their shiny new SUV towards the road.

About 50 yards down the road I am passed by the silver SUV, which proceeds to stop 20 feet in front of me. They wave me on and I hop in the vehicle.

Five minutes later I exit the air conditioned, leather clad "Missionary Vehicle" and say my thank yous and good-byes, but not before receiving my very own pamphlet on Joseph Smith - Spanish Edition.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb