Reminding myself I can do it...


Advertisement
Published: September 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I want to see at least little of Guatemala while I’m here and I had the opportunity to stay with a friend in Panajachel. A guy I know told me I could go with him and he could show me how to get to the bus. He had a couple of meetings in towns along the way but said I could tag along. I decided that in order to not inconvenience him, I would check into a room at his hotel so we could go together early in the morning. Once I checked into the hotel, I found my friend who told me that I would slow him down on a hike up to a finca (farm) and that I would have to wait for him in the villages while he went to his meetings. Basically I was in the way. Arg!!! I wish he had told me that before I paid for the taxi, hotel room, and dinner. I had no intention of burdening this guy with my presence and I’m not one to sit politely waiting in some tiny village for him when I could go directly. I realized I was being a wimp and was depending on someone to show me the way. I just needed to buck up and figure it out for myself. The next morning, I got to sleep later than if I would have if I had gone with the original plan. I walked to the Transmetro to get to the bus to Trebol where the 2nd class buses go towards Panajachel. People pointed the way along the way and it was just fine. I don’t know why I was so worried. I always get to where I’m going.

Advertisement



7th September 2012

Your travels
Loved the pictures and reading your blog. Where to next? I didn't know you were an army brat? Love GG
27th September 2012

from Yongsan to Guatemala!
Hey! I can't believe you're now traveling in Guatemala...I've been there 15 times in the last 9 years. Shoot me an email when you can and let's catch up (this is Scott from Yongsan--we went to SAMS together back in the early '70s). Have fun!
12th January 2013

When will you be there?
I'm hoping to head back to Guatemala in June. Will you be there?

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb