Pacaya Volcano!! WOW!!!


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Rolling Lava!! 19 secs
16th MAY 2009 - TOASTING MARSHMELLOWS OVER HOT LAVA....SURREAL EXPERIENCE!!!
I woke up at around 8am after a really good nights sleep. Much needed I might add. Only Nat and I were left in the room. Our other 3 roomies had left at around 5am that morning after unzipping and rezipping their bags at least a 1000 times. Sure won't miss that (being woken up at all hours) when I get home though it will be strange to have a room to myself after spending so long sharing with others. I can imagine me being quite lonely at first without at least Nat there to chat to though I am sure I will get used to it pretty quickly!! Once we were both up and ready we headed down for breakfast which was in with the hostel price. We actually were allowed to choose from the menu which was a big novelty for us as opposed to being given toast and jam. I was so tempted for a bacon and egg sandwich which looked delicious but I stuck to my healthy option of granola, fruit and yoghurt. Got to watch the waistline where possible!! Outside it was pretty rainy again but as we had limited time left on our trip, we couldn't afford to spend another day dossing about and watching films. Rain or shine...the sights must be seen!! We set off out at around 10am.....Macs on!!

Our 1st job was to book on the afternoon volcano tour. We had herd some pretty good stuff about it and it seemed like the main thing to do in Guatemala. Apparently you could take marshmallows up to toast over the hot lava. I was skeptical but we would see!! Once booked on the tour we went to explore Antigua. The main things we had been told to look at were churches and ruins and...ruined churches!! Double Whammy!! Antigua was a nice little place. Quite poverty stricken but cute with it. All the houses were painted in different colours (yellow, red, blue etc) which really brightened up the streets. Most were one story high and set against a backdrop of mountains and volcanoes. The cobbled streets just added to the cuteness. The only downside was the rain as everything looks better in the sun.

We checked out the cathedral in the square which was a stark contrast to the ones in Mexico. Not bling at all and if anything a little too plain. There really is no pleasing me is there?!! We then had a wander to see some small ruins and then onto an old convent ruins.....2 for the price of 1!! Typical though....there was an entrance fee! I weighed it up in my mind and decided that I had seen enough churches and ruins without paying to see another especially as money was getting tight. I opted out and Nat chose to do the same. We photographed it from the gate instead...just as good!! Really!!

The rain got stronger and stronger and eventually we admitted defeat and walked back to the hostel to dry off a bit before our afternoon volcano tour. We got chatting to 2 guys who had both been on the volcano tour a couple of days ago. They said it was well worth seeing but told us to be careful. One of them had some really bad grazing and cuts all across his leg where he had fallen on the volcano. Oh dear...I had visions of me falling down and cutting myself too. I had been so clumsy on this trip that if there was a possibility of getting injured I would!! I accepted the fact that I was going to hurt myself...the question was just how much!!

At around 12.30pm we headed out to the supermarket on a marshmallow hunt. We found some and also got some fruit to snack on too as we would be gone for a good few hours and I doubted that a few marshmallows would be substance enough to contain my hunger. Once sorted, we headed back to the square where we booked our bus out of Antigua for the following day and then waited around for the bus to pick us up. Thankfully the rain had stopped and we hoped it was a sign of things to come as we doubted it would be much fun toasting marshmallows’ in the rain.

At 2pm the bus arrived and we got on along with a few others. There were 12 of us in total on the tour from all different nationalities. We really haven't met many English people in Guatemala so far and we were definitely in the minority as we didn't speak Spanish. Still, we were getting by ok up to now. The bus was crammed and it was quite a long and very bumpy journey. We all gripped our seats as we were thrown all over the bus. All adds to the adventure I suppose. It took about 1 and a half hours before we arrived and when we did it was like a circus. The van windows and doors were crowded with kids selling plastics (plastic sheets to shield us from the rain) and walking sticks. It was an effort in itself to get out and away from them all. It was as if we were all celebrities being mobbed by fans...only these fans wanted money for goods. There were guys selling marshmallows, stray dogs running about, chickens squawking and roaming around the floor, a couple of cows were dotted here and there and a few horses joined in the fun too. So many people around as well and it really was a manic sight to see!!

It had begun raining again by the time we left the van but we had our macs on and it didn't bother me or Nat too much. As it got heavier though, I did begin to wander exactly how much water the old faithful macs could withstand!! Maybe we would find out!! We were assigned a guide for our group and he chatted to us about safety and what would happen before setting off on the trail. The only problem was that he was a Spanish guide and I couldn't understand what he was saying at all!! Oh well...again...it all adds to the adventure. The good thing was that he stopped in all the right places and pointed so even if we didn't know what we were looking at, at least we knew where to look.

The hike up to Pacaya Volcano was good but very wet. We were walking up a mud track through the trees and so you can imagine how slippery it had become with the heavy rain. A few drips that came off the trees were giant as well and when one got you, it was like being hit by a water bomb!! Soaked to the bone!! The scenery was pretty spectacular though and you could see lots of other volcanoes in the vicinity. The most impressive was Aqua Volcano which stood really tall and prominent in the distance. Definitely one to avoid at eruption time!! The walk was pretty steep in places too and since Nat and I hadn't done any exercise since New Zealand we felt it in the legs. There was an option to take a taxi to the top though...on a horse!! Guatemalan guys with horses walked up with each group and kept shouting taxi at every available opportunity. Talk about cashing in on people struggling!! I didn't fancy going up on a horse and so pushed on upwards. None of our group used a taxi actually and we made good time as we continued up through the trees. We also had another companion on the trek...another 4 legged creature that some would refer to as mans best friend. I however would safely say that they are no friends of mine!! Some groups had 2 or 3 dogs with them but luckily we only had one that seemed to want to walk with us. Unluckily, it seemed to want to walk in front of me the whole way!! I was glad it chose in front instead of behind as it meant that I could keep and eye on it and prepare myself for any sign of attack! (By prepare, I mean run like hell). It was actually good having the dog though. I didn't notice the steepness of the hill and seemed to have loads of energy as my body was pumped with adrenalin and my mind was too focused on the dog to be able to think about muscular pain. I was pretty proud of myself for walking in such close proximity actually...pat on the back for me!!

Once we reached the opening at the top of the trees we stopped for a short break to look down and around at the view. You could see Guatemala City, Antigua, other volcanoes and lots of countryside. It was pretty nice. You could also see Pacaya Volcano and the red lava running down it. That was the one we were going to climb...so cool!! It had stopped raining up there too and appeared quite clear. Things always seem to work out well!!

As we climbed up Pacaya Volcano we all stayed pretty close together. The volcanic rock was sharp and loose underfoot in places making it pretty dangerous. I could see how the guy from the hostel had injured himself. As we got closer to the lava flow you could feel it heating up and some of the rock was white indicating that it was too hot to touch. I was worried for the rubber on the soles of my trainers and daren't stand in one place for too long. I was not sure how the dogs coped with only hair on their paws for protection but the guide said they endured the pain in the hope they would be fed a marshmallow or two!! As we got closer and closer it got more impressive. You could see the hot lava rolling down the volcano before our eyes and the heat intensified. I got a bit of rock stuck in my finger like a splinter as I used my hands to help steady myself. It hurt a tad but I managed to get it out and hoped that would be my only injury!!

It was pretty busy on the Volcano which made it all the more dangerous. Everyone was fighting for the same spots and the volcano was not really sturdy underfoot. There was one section of really hot lava and that looked like the best place to go for photos and marshmallow toasting. Nat and I tried to maneuver our way along and it got pretty hairy in places so we took extra care as we slid past people. I spotted our guide and 2 people from our group standing at the best spot and so I indicated for Nat to follow me as we made our way to join them. It was a tight squeeze and pretty dangerous. As I stepped over some loose rock to get to a more secure looking part, my footing went and I began to fall. Luckily a guy caught me and pulled me to my feet and made sure I was steady on them. Phew...that could have been nasty!! The marshmallows did not fair as well...I dropped half the bag as I slipped. I could see them melting on the hot rock before my very eyes. Nat didn't see my fall but saw the effect and I apologised!! No worries...there was plenty more to go at!!

The guide saw us coming and pulled us up to the top spot where the lava was glowing bright red. Nat followed as I began to put some marshmallows on a long 3 pronged stick. The lava was right next to us, glowing red hot. I was shocked to be honest that they let people get so close. One wrong move and if someone fell in it, they would be seriously burnt. As I lent over to toast the marshmallows over it, I could feel my face burning like it was on fire and my mac began to stick to my skin as the material melted. The mac was a bad choice and I was a little scared at how hot it had become in such a short amount of time! It was like being in a really hot over and I could not stand it for more than a few seconds. I had to pull back and get away. Photo opportunity gone to get the good lava in the background. I stood back and let Nat have her turn. Again she wasn't able to endure the heat for long and had to get out of there too. It was hot!!! It was a real shame there were so many people as once you had been to that spot, there was no going back; it was like a production line!! No good photos for us but at least we got some marshmellows toasted...and very tasty they were too!!

We moved further down the volcano to a less hot part. Don't get me wrong, it was still hot and the marshmellows were still toasting but it didn't set you on fire. A guy gave me a hand as I climbed down one section to move along; only his hand wasn't so steady. My foot slipped again and this time I did fall cutting the back of my leg open in the process. It really stung and was bleeding a lot. I could not believe the volcano made me bleed my own blood!!! I wiped it with some tissue and checked there was no rock stuck in my skin! It looked worse than it was because of the blood but apart from the stinging, I think it was just a few scratches!! Like I said before...if there was a chance to get injured I would take it...and I did!!! When did I become so clumsy on my feet?!! Destination reached and blood mopped up, we toasted some more marshmallows over the hot rocks. At one point, I stopped and thought about what we were actually doing and thought how surreal it was!! Rally crazy and a once in a lifetime!! The marshmallows were really tasty too and I enjoyed a good half dozen whilst Nat ate a couple and then fed hers to the lurking stray dogs!! It was safe to say that I didn't give them any of mine!!

At around 6pm. our guide called out and we made our way off the volcano and back onto the mud path that we had climbed up earlier. It was pretty slippery going down and I am not sure how I managed to stay on my feet but I did!! Chatted to a German guy along the way who thought I was from Holland or Norway...nothing new there then!!! The walk down was probably worse than on the way up as it was pretty dark and hard to see what was mud and what were horse droppings. I was pleased when we reached the bottom and got back in the van!!

The van ride back was much the same as going. Very bumpy and dark outside. I was tired as it had been a long day!! We got back to the square at around 8.30pm and the church was really nicely lit up. We headed straight back to the hostel and checked out as we were leaving too early the next morning to do it them. We then headed out to wander for an internet shop but we both felt a little unsafe on the dark, quiet streets and so we headed back to The Black Cat. In the room, I cleaned my wound and liberally applied the savlon, read some of my book and then crashed!!! I had really enjoyed my day yet again!!! Love travelling!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 32


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb