Like I said...


Advertisement
Published: August 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I really need to stay away from this place. If you haven't been to Guate, then Antigua is a must, otherwise, STAY AWAY. After i wrote the last blog, on the way back to the hotel, i walked by an irish pub overflowing with loud and drunk white tourist. Then, i saw another asshole taking a pictures of an indigenous family, and the family was obviously uncomfortable, but the muthafuka didnt seem to care or notice. To top it all off, this morning, as i was walking towards the rental parked a block from the hotel, i saw that someone had broken the window and stolen the fucking radio and all of the lovely music people blessed me with. AURGHHHHHHHH!!!! To be fair though, this one was my fault. The car had a removable face plate to its radio that i did not think of removing and the hotel had secured parking, but i did not even ask till this morning. However, it just adds to the frustration to being in this place. I doubt ill come back to Antigua, unless i come with one of you if you have never been. Just be warned, its SUPER, ULTRA touristy. Its weird cause tourist around Guate usually are pretty cool, but something happens when they get here. + there seems to be way more American tourist in Antigua than anyone else in Guate. I hardly ever see then around the country. Anyway, I returned the car today cause i did not want to deal with it in the city and will be taking public trans for the remainder of the trip. Its been an incredible experience for me (the trip) ive seen so much of the country side and feel like i actually know roads, streets, towns and shit that I usually miss when Im on a bus. I will def want to do it again. Marla was great! Thank goodness for her good (or better than me) navigation skills. She also is NEVER boring. Funny as shit and can carry out a good quality convo about anything from bugers and pooping patterns to the ineptitude of the democratic party or the Venezuelan revolution. Over 1000 miles and i was never bored. Good music played an important role as well, thanks to Tarik, Grissy and Jake. I cant wait to write a summary blog of the trip and post more pics on MiEspacio. I will be spending the rest of the trip with fam and i prob wont have access to the net, so this might be my last blog. For those of you who read, thank you. And if you read, it prob means that i love you so I LOVE YOU and thanks for all of the love, comments, messages and vibes you have sent me. "We almost home, we almost at the finish line n@#$%s... i can go home and chill" - (c) Phonte

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb