San Salvador revisited


Advertisement
Published: August 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

August 1 - Today I slept until 7:30am (again!) and had a long skype call with Jeroen after breakfast. Then I went to try to find Carlos, the guy who runs the guesthouse. I think he said last night that he would take me to the bus station today. The cleaning lady called him and then he still wasn't there, so I explained again and he came. In the meantime, I spent about 30 minutes talking to a Canadian girl who arrived yesterday. She is far braver than me – she rented a car here. Scary. Carlos took me to the bus and then it took just over an hour and 85 cents to get to San Salvador. Then, it took 5 minutes and 5 dollars in a taxi to get to my guesthouse. I decided to stay in the first place I went to last time I was here. It is near the mall and that was about all that was on my list for the day today. I got a room without a bathroom with a super powerful fan and cable, settled in, and then walked a block to the mall. I was a bit disappointed – the mall was huge but there was less interesting inside than I expected. I ate at Wendy's and then stood in the longest line ever to buy a ticket to Batman for 2 dollars, 10% of the price I would pay at home (though I would never see this movie at home). It was 2pm and I had an hour until the movie started, so I walked around the department store and then settled in at Starbucks with my book and a chai frappacino. When I got to the movie I had to find my seat, L9, and it was right next to some other people. The theater was cold, which felt great. The movie was on the dark and depressing side, definitely not what I needed, but it was pretty much the only thing in English. It took 3 hours and then I grabbed a sub from Subway, went to a nearby grocery store to stock up on snacks for the twelve hour bus ride to Managua tomorrow, and walked home before it got dark. I had a skype call with my sister, another with my friend Steph, an unsuccessful call where I could see my mom eating a Subway sandwich (coincidentally) but she couldn't see or hear me apparently. Maybe she'll try to call back. Now The Big Bang Theory is on and I'm enjoying it. I have to get up and leave by 4am tomorrow, so will try to sleep early. More like not sleeping well all night and then sleeping on the bus. That would be ok.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.521s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 28; qc: 131; dbt: 0.2989s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb