First full day in El Salvador!


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Okay. So today i went to the malnourishment clinic. I have to say... it wasn't really what i expected. I was expecting more of a hospital setting with all the babies in one room..like newborns at the hospital. But no. Each baby had their own room. The clinic was very clean and open..but HOT! The first baby i got to work with's name was Doris ( Door- eese). She is 3 and 1/2. She has down syndrome (: She was beautiful! I got to give her a bath and feed her twice! It was an amazing experience. I had an amazing time.

For dinner we had a spiced chicken thing..rice and frijoles (beans). It was delicious! After dinner, we had reflection. When it was my turn to speak..i started tearing up. It was very hard for me to speak about the touching experience. I mean..except when volunteers are there..those babies live in their cribs. They rarely get out. it was so nice to know that i was making a difference in those babies lives. They are locked up in a room with a closed door all day. I loved knowing that i was making their day (: It was such a rewarding experience.


Love Jamie


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb