first journal


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

cookingcookingcooking

Learning how to cook Haitian food with my roommates sister as head chef...Man she can cook!!
so yesterday i came home from a day of teaching english and ninety degree weather 32 C. i unlocked the door to my room (which is weird because for about 2 months i didn't even have a door) and flung my laptop and books on my bed, stripped my uniform shirt off and proceeded to do what every guy does no matter what country your in- go and look in the fridge. There's something to be said about the psychological relief that takes place when you look in the fridge. It is a feeling of security or what? It is always one of the first things I do, and usually there isn't a whole lot there. Anyway, while I was musing over the lack of food in the house, my door slammed shut like it has been doing the past two days on account of the wind blowing through our apartment. Not a big deal, right? Well, not until I tried to return to my room to make preparations for three hours of Spanish class did I realize that my door was locked! The wind had sucked the air out of my room forcing the door to bounce off the inside
Woodlin can cook!Woodlin can cook!Woodlin can cook!

a little bit of dis and a little bit of dat and...wala!
wall, pushing the locking mechanism in to engage the lock. Then the wind blew into my room slamming the door shut and barring me from entering.

Well, first I finished eating my rice and beans which my Haitian roommates had cooked up so as to think through the situation and not to panic. How was I going to get into my window, located on the third floor of an apartment right in front of the local university without being a spectacle?

As it turned out my roommate had a private stash of keys for the place and all was good, fewh! I was getting some pretty creative ideas, swinging down from the roof and so on.

So the pictures are of Rodney's sister. She's teaching me some cooking. The food she makes is awsome, and I mean awsome.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

the Dominican flagthe Dominican flag
the Dominican flag

they say that rice and beans are the dominican flag because everybody eats them so much. it's just like back home: the mosquito is the alaska state bird, ha ha. i literally eat rice and beans every day, and i like it. this pic was the first time i did it without any outside help.yee, ha.
mangu with eggs, unions, and salamimangu with eggs, unions, and salami
mangu with eggs, unions, and salami

okay, the green banana is a plantane or platano in spanish. you boil it, mush it, and throw some eggs and onions on top and you got a filling meal.
washing by handwashing by hand
washing by hand

here woodlin is teaching me how to wash clothes by hand. i never thought it was so labor intensive. after that, i didn't want to wear any of my clothes because i knew how much work it took to clean them!


6th December 2005

Dominicans are the bast
6th December 2005

dominicans are the best
Im lovin that mangu
7th January 2006

Hey, nice pics
HI, I was surfing the net looking for some pics of my homeland... your are awesome, and I seriously appreciate the commentary. Thanks!!! Gigi

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb