Hotel Colonial Santiago, Dominican Republic


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hotel Colonial Santiago, Dominican RepublicHotel Colonial Santiago, Dominican RepublicHotel Colonial Santiago, Dominican Republic

Budget priced hotel conveniently located in downtown Santiago.
Since I make so many trips to the Dominican Republic, I am always on the lookout for budget priced hotels to stay at. My last few trips to Santiago I have stayed at Hotel Colonial on Cucurullo, near the corner of 30 de marzo. It is a decent sized hotel with 2 buildings. The rooms are very basic, and clean. They all have hot water and you can choose whether you want AC or not. I paid about 475 pesos per night with AC. That is a great deal.

The hotel is in the downtown area of Santiago and a short walk to calle del Sol and other main shopping areas. Avenida 27 de febrero is 2 blocks away and one night I even walked to the monument area after a brief stop at McDonalds for dinner.

The hotel has a calling center as well as internet center. I spoke to the owners and they are planning on adding wifi access point in the near future. That will make it a no brainer for me to stay there on future trips. We have a page that lists all WIFI Hotspots in the Dominican Republic on www.dr-tourist.tv These days, internet access plays a big part in my planning of trips!

I spent 4 nights in Santiago and on my last night we walked up to the Monument area where there was going to be a live Merengue concert, featuring Milly Quezada, the Queen Of Merengue. Unfortunately we did not get to see Milly as we had an early flight and wanted a good night's sleep. We did see Prodigio perform a few Merengue Tipicos and say out on the side of the hill where the monument is drinking a Presidente while enjoying a slight breeze. There are tons of people partying at the monument on weekend nights with local "jevitos" pulling up with their cars blasting Bachata, and Reggaeton from insane car stereo systems. . . . . .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb