Pictures are coming!!!


Advertisement
Published: May 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

This is where I live

This is where I live - Picard, Dominica.

Hi, Everybody!!

I FINALLY got my barrels, which means that I finally got the stuff to upload my photos!!! WWWOOOO!!!!

Dominica is getting better by the day. I think I have found some people who I will be able to study and hang out with, with is extremely relieving. Most of the people here a very nice.

I live on Moo Cow Trail. How awesome is that!?! So basically, there are random cows on the side of the road, either tide to a tree or roaming freely. I have come back at night to walk right next to a cow on the side of the road who scared the crap out of me when he moved. The animals here are not scared at all by people. We have a TON of stray dogs - one of which spent about an hour with me following me around campus and giving me company at lunch. That is most likely because I had food, but I will think of it as a lunch date. I also saw a pack of billy goats running together up the road past the main academic building for first semesters. There are animals all over the place and it's just so funny to see them running so wild. There are some HUGE catepillars here, one of which I have a picture of.

You are also going to see some scenery of Dominica and in particular the Sulfur Springs. I mentioned this in my last blog. You're going to see some very light colored water and if you look closely, you'll see bubbles in it. You'll also see some pictures of my campus. Now that I have a camera charger, I can take pictures of the area I live in and my little cottage.

So overall, I have been busy these last few days attending orientation (blegh), enjoying the local dining establishments (they do have chinese food here and it's amazing) including a place called the "shacks." That's exactly what they are. They're all huddled in a group right next to campus. There is a guy here who sells fruit drinks and they are amazing - I recommend the passion fruit. There is another place that sells coconut bread and they mexican and all sorts of stuff. The fruits here are generally amazing and there is fresh fruit growing right outside my cottage door. Other than that, I have been enjoying the campus pool for nightly swims under the stars. It's really quite enjoyable and I wish classes didn't have to start.

So a few things about Dominica - it seems to perpetually be raining here. Even if the sun is out scorching you, it is likely that you will feel some random little rain drops. Also, it gets very hot and humid, so you are constantly sweaty and gross. I generally take two showers a day and change my clothes twice. That's how gross you get. For the most part, I walk everywhere, so I think I walk about a million miles a day. The people here are generally nice, although I am noticing that there are some issues with begging and theft. Also, the nationals seem to have a very laid back approach to things, which can be perplexing when you are from Boston... Nonetheless, they can also be very helpful and generous.

Okay I am going to end here. I am sure you're getting tired of my rant. Hope everyone is well!!!

xoxo, Brooke

P.S. I'M HAVING PROBLEMS UPLOADING PHOTOS, SO I WILL BE SENDING A LINK FOR ANOTHER SITE!! SIT TIGHT!!

Advertisement



8th May 2008

lunch date...nice!
look at you...going on dates with dogs the minute you got there ;) i ma so glad you are having such an awesome time. i am kinda jealous. the description reminds me a lot about home...kinda weird. i was on skype yesterday and tried calling you miss. pick up the dang phone! luv you and miss you lots. ps- i dont like dominica already...the flag has a bird on it!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb