May 25, 1521


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba
March 28th 2010
Published: March 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Native Fighting SettlersNative Fighting SettlersNative Fighting Settlers

Natives fighting settlers. I can't bear to remember it.
Entry 5

A lot has happened since my last entry. We have since landed on a new island, Andros Island, searched for the fountain of youth, and had no luck. Leon left the islands and headed for Spain. I stayed here, trying to examine the wildlife and keep logs of them. However, Leon came back with more ships and more men. He was being driven by the thought of settling Florida and searching for that acursed fountain of youth. I was still part of his crew, so I had to go along. We sailed from Borinquen to Florida, up the west coast, just as before. Leon informed me that I would be rewarded for my loyalty to him by leading one of the war parties. Me. I'm a pacifist! I tried as hard as I could but I could not get out of it. The role would be fulfilled by me. When we landed thoughts swirled in my head. I couldn't tell up from left, north from blue. I couldn't fight. I couldn't kill. So I formulated a plan as we charged, a "tripped" and landed in some bushes to my left. That is where I laid the entire battle. The natives expected us and attacked us with clubs, picked us off with arrows. We may have had guns, and we may have thought us ready, but we were ill prepared. The natives knew we were coming, they knew the land, and they had more men. I watched hopelessly as my fellow man got cut down by small axes, as these two group hungered for the others flesh. It was a very bloody experience and had I not hidden, I would have died. One of the worst parts of the battle was seeing Leon himself, struck by an arrow, its sharp tip ripping through his chest's flesh. I may have thought Leon a crazy man, but I had grown attatched to him during our trip. When it was realized Leon was hit, soldiers started to run back to help him and started a retreat. It was I who was the first. We sailed toward an island named Cuba, where we would get the crew proper medical attention. They placed the entire crew on sick beds, including me. It was thought for a while that I was insane, but after getting my wits together I explained what happened. I drew a painting of what happened, and while it did help me recover, getting those bad thoughts out of me, I never wish to see that painting.
However, if you wish to see my painting, their it is:
I have not heard any word on the rest of the crew.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb