Cayo Largo


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba
July 15th 2007
Published: August 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a 5am pick up from the Plaza Hotel, I was on my way out of Havana and to the island of Cayo Largo. I was checked in and eating breakfast by 10am. I'm here for three days and it's all inclusive -- all food AND cocktails!

The beach is beautiful but the water is too warm. It's like a warm bath, so what's the point in swimming? The pool is the same temperature.

The hotel reminds me of Dirty Dancing -- there's an 'entertainment team' of twenty-somethings who come out to the pool every few hours and do dances like the Macarena and try to round up tourists for pool volleyball. After a few cocktails I heard "Natalie from Australia, get into the pool". I thought it was the fourth banana daiquiri, but it was in fact the MC telling me to get into the pool for some volleyball. Fat chance. I kept drinking and then got my hair cut and a massage.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0906s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb