CUBALANDIA: SINGLE TRAVELERS AND HOW SIMILAR WE ARE


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba » Este
March 25th 2012
Published: March 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The first day of classes I met a French guy Fabian walking down the stairs from the University. I said I spoke French (not sure if I should have since I don’t really speak it that much anymore). We started talking and ended up getting a sandwich for ¢75 and strolling along random streets and buying bananas on the market.

It was funny to know that he also had a blog and carried a little notebook along. His blog was “Where Is Fabian” and mine is “Where is Marina.” I guess I wasn’t that original when I thought of the name. I am thinking of changing it to “Scoop of Rice and Beans.” Any thoughts?

He also took two years off because didn’t want to get into a routine, was traveling by himself, and thought that traveling solo forces you to do things you don’t normally do in la vie cotidienne.

When in the afternoon we met up with his Canadian friend Stephanie and went to get cheap pizza and ice cream, we realized we totally did our homework and read “lonely planet.” All of us carried passport and money in a money belt very well hidden underneath the T-Shirt, we all were totally cheap butts and enjoyed the pizza for ¢50 much more than dinners for $6. All of us carried notebooks, wrote things down, and packed out stuff into inflatable space bags. What a coincidence!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb